10 May 2019

The University of Queensland has a range of experts available to talk during the Federal election campaign.

Journalists can search by topic or name at UQ Experts or contact the following experts.

 

Children and Families

Professor Karen Thorpe, Group Leader and Deputy Director of Research, Institute of Social Science Research, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Expertise: childcare; child development; school readiness; twins; children's sleep; early education and care parenting; children; early years workforce; childcare educators work conditions; preschool.

Contact: k.thorpe@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7742.

 

Dr Sally Staton, Research Fellow, Institute of Social Science Research, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Expertise: Children’s sleep health and sleep patterns; Child health and well-being; Developmental Psychology; Child Development; Early care environments; Early childhood education and care policy and practice; Carer and parent sleep practices; Sibling relationships; Early social interactions; Twin studies; childcare

Contact: s.staton@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7698.

 

Dr Sandy Houen, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Institute of Social Science Research, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Expertise: Early childhood education; Teacher-child interactions; childcare

Contact: s.houen@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8846.

 

Business

Professor Andrew Griffiths, Executive Dean of Faculty of Business, Economics and Law

Expertise: innovation and sustainability, corporate sustainability, climate change and business.

Contact: a.griffiths@bel.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6204, @Profagriffiths.

 

Emeritus Professor Ken Wiltshire, UQ Business School:

Expertise: government and policy, comparative government, government and administration, government business relations, intergovernmental relations, public policy.

Contact: k.wiltshire@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8100.

 

Associate Professor Bernard McKenna, UQ Business School:

Expertise: management, political rhetoric and corporate communication, community participation in corporate and social decision-making.

Contact: b.mckenna@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8149.

 

Professor Nicole Gillespie, UQ Business School:

Expertise: organisational trust, trust development, stakeholder trust, leadership, organisational change.

Contact: n.gillespie@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8076, @DrNGillespie.

 

Professor Neal Ashkanasy, UQ Business School:

Expertise: leadership and leader-member relationships, organisational culture, emotional intelligence, ethics in organisational behaviour.

Contact: n.ashkanasy@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8006.

 

Dr Sarel Gronum, UQ Business School:

Expertise: innovation leadership, entrepreneurship, SME growth and performance, business model innovation.

Contact: s.gronum@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8168.

 

Robert Sobyra, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences:

Expertise: the changing nature and future of work across Australia. 

Contact: r.sobyra@uq.edu.au, +61 430 055 047.

 

Economics

Professor John Quiggin, School of Economics:

Expertise: Australian economic policy, public asset sales, drought and economics, water and economics/politics, environment/climate change and economics, economic growth, tax, employment policy, political economy, and “zombie economics”.

Contact: j.quiggin@uq.edu.au, +61 400 747 165, +61 7 3346 9646, @JohnQuiggin.

 

Dr Ian MacKenzie, School of Economics:

Expertise: environmental and resource economics, the economics of climate change, environmental policy, mining, pollution regulation, and recycling as it translates to economics.

Contact: i.mackenzie@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6619.

 

Professor John Mangan, Australian Institute for Business and Economics:

Expertise: labour economics, industrial economics, taxation policy, climate change economics, water and economics, economic growth.

Contact: jmangan@bel.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 1630, +61 434 367 480.
 

Professor Phil Bodman, Deputy Executive Dean of Faculty of Business, Economics and Law

Expertise: macroeconomics, monetary policy, housing market/prices, mortgage crisis, inflation, fiscal policy, economic forecasting, business and labour economics.

Contact: p.bodman@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 9033, @PhilBodman.
 

Law

Professor Graeme Orr, TC Beirne School of Law:

Expertise: laws and norms of electoral politics – how elections, parties, parliament and money in politics are run, and labour and employment law.

Contact: g.orr@law.uq.edu.au, +61 434 525 398, @Graeme_Orr.
 

Politics

Dr Chris Salisbury, School of Political Science and International Studies:

Expertise: Queensland state and federal politics, Australia’s social and political history, budget and election analysis.

Contact: c.salisbury@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2698, +61 439 883 731, @cgsalisbury.

 

Professor Kath Gelber, School of Political Science and International Studies:

Expertise: Australian politics, hate speech, human rights and freedom of speech.

Contact: k.gelber@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2910, @KGelber.

 

Energy, resources and environment

Professor Karen Hussey, UQ Centre for Policy Futures:

Expertise: climate change, sustainability and environment policy.

Contact: k.hussey@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3443 3154, +61 420 537 169.

 

Associate Professor Matt McDonald, School of Political Science and International Studies:

Expertise: climate change, foreign and defence policy.

Contact: matt.mcdonald@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3042, +61 451 302 030, @MattM_UQ.

 

Electric vehicles

Dr Jake Whitehead, School of Civil Engineering: 

Expertise: transport energy, transport policy, road pricing, electric vehicles, autonomous vehicles. 

Contact: j.whitehead@uq.edu.au, +61 430 404 974. 

 

Professor John Quiggin, School of Economics:

Expertise: the economic impact of electric vehicles, how electronic vehicles reduce emissions, the introduction of electric vehicles in other countries.

Contact: j.quiggin@uq.edu.au, +61 400 747 165, +61 7 3346 9646, @JohnQuiggin.

 

Media: UQ Communications, communications@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 1120.