29 March 2018

The following UQ experts are available to comment on various issues relating to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Journalists can also search by topic or name at UQ Experts.

SPORTS INJURY

Professor Bill Vicenzino
Expertise: overuse injuries, physical therapies, cross-training exercise, strapping for rehabilitation, neuromuscular pain and injury.
Phone: 07 3365 2781
Email: b.vicenzino@uq.edu.au

Dr Michelle Smith
Expertise: neuromuscular changes that occur due to injury, disease and pain, the risks and effects of injury and re-injury on physical performance, taping and bracing interventions for treatment and prevention of injury, the trade-offs that occur between athleticism and skill.
Phone: 07 3365 4660
Email: m.smith5@uq.edu.au

SPORTS COACHING AND UMPIRING

Professor Cliff Mallett
Expertise: leading coaching educator, former member of the Australian Olympic coaching team (1996 and 2004), former elite athlete coach.
Phone: cmallett@uq.edu.au
Mobile: 07 3365 6765

Dr Steven Rynne
Expertise: work of high performance coaches and how they learn their craft, the social benefits of sport, Indigenous sport programs.
Phone: 07 3346 9977
Email: s.rynne@uq.edu.au

Mr Bob Crudgington
Expertise: former Australian softball team coach, former Australian Olympic dive team coach (2004), elite athlete coach (softball, diving, shooting, volleyball, basketball, rugby union and rugby league).
Phone: 07 3365 6172
Email: bobcrudgington@uq.edu.au

Katherine O’Brien
Expertise: education and training of performance coaches and officials (including elite referees and umpires). 
Mobile: 0458 357 792
Email: k.obrien1@uq.edu.au

SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY

Professor Cliff Mallett
Expertise: the motivation of elite athletes and coaches of elite athletes, mental toughness in elite sport (coaches and athletes), high performance coach learning and development.
Phone: 07 3365 6765
Email: cmallett@uq.edu.au

Dr Stephanie Hanrahan
Expertise: achievement motivation, goal orientation, expectancy of success, the degree of coaching influence on performance.
Phone: 07 3365 6453
Email: s.hanrahan@uq.edu.au

NUTRITION AND HYDRATION

Dr Michael Leveritt
Expertise: how to make better food choices to improve health and exercise performance.
Phone: 07 3346 7768
Email: Michael.leveritt@uq.edu.au

FEMALE PARTICIPATION AND PUBLIC HEALTH

Professor Wendy Brown
Exercise: exercise as a key component of public health, female participation in sport, the cost of physical inactivity to society.
Mobile: 0401 718 287
Email: wbrown@uq.edu.au

PARALYMPICS

Dr Sean Tweedy, Principal Investigator of the UQ-IPC Classification Research Partnership
Expertise: the development and evaluation of classification systems in disability sport, former classifier at four Paralympic Games.
Phone: 07 3365 6638
Email: s.tweedy@uq.edu.au

Dr Emma Beckman
Expertise: physical activity participation of people with neuro-musculoskeletal impairments, increasing participation in Paralympic sports for people with a disability through the development of evidence-based systems of classification.
Phone: 07 3346 7904
Email: e.beckman@uq.edu.au

Dr Mark Connick
Expertise: development and evaluation of classification systems in Paralympic sport, the biomechanics of running and cycling.
Phone: 07 3365 6117
Email: m.connick@uq.edu.au

HISTORY AND SOCIETAL IMPORTANCE OF SPORT/PERFORMANCE ENHANCING DRUGS

Associate Professor Sarah Jane Kelly
Expertise: anti-doping regulations, sponsorship metrics, mega-event legacy, commercial protections for Games sponsors, ambush marketing, unauthorised advertising, unauthorised broadcasting.
Mobile: 0408 710 088
Email: s.kelly@law.uq.edu.au

Dr Gary Osmond
Expertise: race, culture and the societal impact of sport pertaining to Indigenous Australians, how modern technology affects the way we record sports history.
Phone: 07 3346 7591
Email: g.osmond@uq.edu.au

Dr Murray Phillips
Expertise: the contemporary and historical aspects of sport, related issues such as military conflicts, gender and coaching.
Phone: 07 3365 6637 
Email: m.phillips@uq.edu.au

Dr Ian Jobling
Expertise: attitudes to performance enhancing drugs, the rise of female participation and Australian IOC members, the impact of the Melbourne 1956 Olympic Games, homosexuality at the Olympic Games, a wide breadth of knowledge and photos pertaining to past Olympic Games.
Mobile: 0417 192 531
Email: i.jobling@uq.edu.au

MARKETING AND SPONSORSHIPS

Dr Jo Previte
Expertise: social marketing, how technology influences on consumer behaviour, alcohol consumption.
Phone: 07 3346 8095
Email: j.previte@business.uq.edu.au

Associate Professor Sarah Jane Kelly
Expertise: sponsorship metrics, anti-doping regulations, mega-event legacy, commercial protections for Games sponsors, ambush marketing, unauthorised advertising, unauthorised broadcasting.
Mobile: 0408 710 088
Email: s.kelly@law.uq.edu.au

TOURISM

Professor Sara Dolnicar
Expertise: AirBnB, peer-to-peer networks.
Mobile: 0437 216 185    
Email: s.dolnicar@uq.edu.au

Dr Sheranne Fairley
Expertise: tourism initiatives non-host cities strategically plan to leverage Games.
Phone: 07 3346 0761
Email: s.fairley1@uq.edu.au

Professor Neil Sipe
Expertise: transport planning, urban planning.
Mobile: 0439 746 123
Email: n.sipe@uq.edu.au

Dr Dorina Pojani
Expertise: urban transport, urban design.
Phone: 07 3365 6091
Email: d.pojani@uq.edu.au

CRIME AND SECURITY

Professor Lorraine Mazerolle
Expertise: policing, crime control and prevention, security issues.
Mobile: 0410 289 745
Email: l.mazerolle@uq.edu.au

DISEASES

Associate Professor Ian Mackay
Expertise: Infectious diseases and outbreaks.
Mobile: 0424 984 266
Email: ian.mackay@uq.edu.au