Photo of Patsy Wolfe goes here
The chief judge of the District Court of Queensland, Judge Patricia Wolfe, is among the UQ alumni who were recognised in the Queens Birthday Honours List
10 June 2014

The Chief Judge of the District Court of Queensland and the founder of a national chemist chain are among prominent University of Queensland alumni recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Judge Patricia Wolfe and Ms Rhonda White each became Officers of the Order of Australia (AO).

UQ Provost and acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Max Lu congratulated all UQ’s honours recipients.

“The large number of UQ alumni who received honours is testament to the quality of inspirational people who are drawn to study at UQ, and to the quality of the graduates that this University has produced over the past century,” Professor Lu said.

Judge Wolfe (Bachelor of Arts 1974, Bachelor of Laws 1978, Master of Laws 1983) was appointed to the District Court of Queensland in 1995. In 1999 she became Chief Judge of the District Court and a judge in the Planning and Environment Court.

Judge Wolfe’s honour was for “distinguished service to the judiciary, to the law through legal education reform and as a mentor and role model for women”.

Ms White (Bachelor of Arts 1977, Grad Dip Psychology 1979) co-founded the Terry White chain of chemists.

She was honoured for “distinguished service to the pharmacy profession, particularly through contributions to education and retail management practices, and as a role model for women in business”

Former Labor MP for Ashgrove and Speaker of the Queensland Parliament Jim Fouras became a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his “significant service to the Parliament of Queensland, as an advocate for homeless youth and social justice, and to the community”.

Mr Fouras graduated from UQ with a Bachelor of Science in 1963 and a Bachelor of Economics in 1972.

UQ Senate member Dr Zelle Hodge AM was recognised for “significant service to medicine, particularly through a range of roles in professional organisations, and to women”. Dr Hodge was awarded her MBBS in 1973.

The chief executive of the Cancer Council of Queensland, Professor Jeffrey Dunn, became an officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for “distinguished service to medical administration through leadership roles with cancer care organisations, and to the promotion of innovative and integrated cancer care programs”.

Professor Dunn has three UQ degrees: a Bachelor of Science (1980), a Masters in Social Planning and Development (1992) and a PhD (2000).

Other UQ alumni recognised in the honours list included:

University of Sydney emeritus professor , Michael Bryden, Member of the Order of Australia (AM), for “significant service to veterinary science, and to education – particularly in the field of animal anatomy – as an academic and researcher”.  Professor Bryden was awarded Vet Science degrees from UQ in 1961 and 1963.

Griffith University Emeritus Professor Graham Jones, Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “significant service to mathematics education as an academic and leader in the profession, and to the community”.  Professor Jones graduated from UQ with a Bachelor of Science in 1961 and a Bachelor of Education in 1965.

Mr Anthony Charters (Master of Urban and Regional Planning, 1986), Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “significant service to the eco-tourism industry, particularly to nature-based recreation, and to environmental education and visitor programs”.

Mr Michael Klug (LLB 1971), Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the law in the field of alternative dispute resolution, and to the community.

University of Melbourne foundation chair of Arts Education Professor John O’Toole,  Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “significant service to drama in education, as a lecturer, author, mentor and researcher. He was awarded a UQ PhD in 1991.

Queensland University of Technology Deputy Vice-Chancellor (corporate programs and partnerships) Professor Peter Little, Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “significant service to business education, particularly university and industry collaboration and engagement, and to the community”. Professor Little was awarded a UQ Bachelor of Laws in 1977 and a Master of Laws in 1984.

Contact: Fiona Cameron, UQ Communications, ph +61 7 3346 7086, Mark Schroder, UQ Advancement, ph +61 7 3346 3921.