Professors Brian Head and Janeen Baxter.
Professors Brian Head and Janeen Baxter.
21 March 2012

Two University of Queensland professors at the Institute for Social Science Research (ISSR) have been awarded with prestigious appointments to the Australian Research Council College (formerly known as College of Experts) – an acknowledgement that they are leaders in their field of research.

Institute Director Professor Mark Western congratulated Professors Janeen Baxter and Brian Head.

"Appointment to the College signals that someone is internationally eminent in their field. It is both an individual achievement and something which the Institute collectively can be proud of," Institute Director Professor Western said.

"Members of the College are appointed by the CEO of the ARC and in addition to having a pivotal role in the assessment and funding of national competitive grants, also provide the ARC with strategic advice on developments in their fields of expertise," he said.

Professor Baxter, who is also a professor in The School of Social Science, said she was honoured to be able to assist the ARC in this important role.

"I'm proud to be able to support the ARC. The ARC has provided significant funding for my research over many years."

"Membership of the committee helps to raise the profile of ISSR, the School of Social Science and UQ more generally. I'm looking forward to working with the ARC and other members of the College from across Australia," Professor Baxter said.

Professor Brian Head said it was a privilege to work with the ARC College.

"It’s certainly an honour for me and for ISSR to be asked to serve on the ARC College, as there are only 16 members for all the social sciences in Australia. My past experience as a reviewer, and as a recipient of grants, has made me appreciate the importance of supporting the robust peer-review processes operated by the ARC."

The ARC College plays a key role in identifying research excellence, moderating external assessments and recommending fundable proposals. It also assists the ARC in recruiting and assigning assessors and in implementing peer review reforms in established and emerging disciplines as well as interdisciplinary areas.

The ARC College has 83 members across all the disciplines, appointed for a period of three years.

There are seven current College members at UQ:

Professor Janeen Baxter - SBE
Professor Brian Head – SBE
Professor Tom Smith - SBE
Professor Robert Henry – BSB
Professor Jurg Keller – EMI
Professor Joanne Tompkins – HCA
Professor Paul Bernhardt – PCE

For more information:

Social, Behavioural and Economic Sciences (SBE) Biological Sciences and Biotechnology (BSB) Engineering, Mathematics and Informatics (EMI) Humanities and Creative Arts (HCA) Physics, Chemistry and Earth Sciences (PCE)

Media: Honor Morton 3346 7806 or