24 February 2015

Three thousand students from more than 80 schools are hoping to prove they have what it takes to grow the heaviest sunflower for 2015.

Today, students will plant their sunflowers to compete in the 2015 University of Queensland Sunflower Competition.

Their aim is to grow the largest and heaviest sunflowers and beat the 4.45 kilogram record.

Now in its 16th year, UQ’s Sunflower Competition promotes the science behind agronomy and horticulture.

Approximately 300 students and teachers will attend the official weigh in day on 19 May at the UQ’s Gatton campus.

Students in remote and regional areas who are unable to attend the weigh-in day can enter the Communicating Science category for a chance to win prizes.

Who: High school students and teachers from Queensland, New South Wales, South Australia and Western Australia

What: Planting sunflower seeds to compete in the annual UQ Sunflower competition

When: Tuesday, 24 February

The competition is supported by the Australian Sunflower Association, Dow Agro Sciences, Pacific Seeds, Queensland Agriculture Teachers Association, Agrifood Skills Australia, UQ Gatton Past Students Association and AgForce. 

Further information on the 2015 competition is available at: http://www.uq.edu.au/agriculture/sunflower-competition

Media: Karli Kollegger,  07 5460 1279 or k.kollegger@uq.edu.au. To find out what schools are participating, please contact Karli Kollegger.

List of 2015 Sunflower Schools

Beaudesert State High School, Bede Polding College, Beverly Hills Girls High School, Biloela State High School, Brisbane State High School, Bundaberg Christian College, Bundamba State Secondary College, Byron Bay High School, Camden high school, Casino high school, Centenary Heights State High School, Charleville State High School, Churchie, Citipointe Christian College, Clare High School, Coolum Beach State High School, Corinda State High School, Dakabin State High School, Deception Bay State High School, Downlands College, Emmaus College, Ferny Grove State High School, Genesis Christian College, Glasshouse Country Christian College, Good Counsel College, Gosford high school, Great Lakes College Tuncurry, Griffith High School, Groves Christian College, Gympie State High School, Injune P-10 State School, Kadina High School, Karoonda Area School, Kepnock State High School, Kilcoy State High School, Kings Christian College, Lake Cargelligo Central School, Lisarow High School, Lake Cargelligo Central School, Mareeba State High School, Mary Mackillop College, Marymount College, Morisset High School, Mount Gravatt State High School, Mt Maria College Petrie, Mt Pleasant Primary School, Murgon State High School, Murray High School, Murwillumbah High School, Nagle College, NEGS, Noosa District High School, Noosa District State High School, Pomona Campus, Nyngan High, Oakey High, Our Lady of The Southern Cross College, Pinjarra Senior High School, Pittsworth State High School, Prince of Peace Lutheran College, Red Bend Catholic College, Riverside Christian College, Rochedale SHS, Rockhampton Girls Grammar School, Rockhampton State High School, Rosewood State High School, Seton College, St Aidan's Anglican Girls' School, St Edmund's College, St John's College, The Cathedral College, The Gap State High School, The Ipswich State High School, Toogoolawah SHS, Toolooa State High School, Toowoomba SHS Wilsonton Campus, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College Berkeley Vale Campus, Tullwong State High School, Wellington High School, Westport High School, Xavier College, Yeoval Central School, Yeronga SHS