

# Diploma in Science (DipSc)

#### 1 Definitions

In these rules —

*minor* means a prescribed combination of 8 units from the minor section of the Diploma in Science (DipSc) course list;

*UQ minor* means a prescribed combination of 8 units from the UQ minor section of the BSc course list.

## 2 Program requirements

- (1) To complete the program, a student must complete 16 units, comprising—
  - (a) 4 units for core courses from the DipSc course list, and
  - (b) 12 units comprising—
    - (i) both—
      - (A) 8 units for a minor from the DipSc course list, and
      - (B) 4 units from the DipSc course list or Bachelor of Science (BSc) course list (excluding courses in the UQ minors list); or
    - (ii) 12 units from the DipSc course list or BSc course list (excluding courses in the UQ minors list).
- (2) A student must complete at least 6 units of courses at level 2 or higher.

## 3 Program plan

- (1) Each minor must include 4 units of courses at level 2 or higher, taken from that minor's course list and counted towards no other plan.
- (2) Where the program is undertaken with two minors, any course listed more than once must be substituted in one minor by a course at the same level or higher from the course list for that minor, or from the DipSc course list or BSc course list.

#### 4 Maximum credit for other study

The associate dean (academic) may not grant any credit to a student for previous study. *Note: See <u>PPL 3.50.03 Credit for Previous Studies and Recognised Prior Learning</u>.*