PROGRAM RULES



Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) / Bachelor of Commerce

1 Definitions

In these rules—

approved combination means a combination of courses approved by the executive dean;

BCom major means an approved combination of 12 units from part B of the BCom course list of which 6 units must be at level 3;

BE(Hons) electives means courses on the BE(Hons) course list;

BE(Hons) major means major as defined in the BE(Hons) program rules;

pre-2019 student means a student who first enrolled in the program before 1 January 2019.

2 Field of study

- (1) A student must undertake the BE(Hons) component of the dual program in an approved field.
- (2) A student must undertake the BCom component of the dual program in an approved field.

3 Program requirements

- (1) To complete the program, a student must complete 88 units, comprising—
 - (a) 32 units from the BCom course list comprising—
 - (i) 16 units from part A; and
 - (ii) 12 units for a BCom major from part B; and
 - (iii) 4 units from part B or C or a combination of both; and
 - (b) 56 units from the BE(Hons) course list comprising—
 - (i) a BE(Hons) major; and
 - (ii) the balance from BE(Hons) electives or other courses approved by the executive dean.
- (2) Unless a different intention appears in these rules, a student must comply with the program rules for both degrees.

4 Special rules

4.1 ECON1310

- (1) A student required to complete STAT2201, STAT2203, CHEE2010, CHEE3010, CIVL2530 or MINE3214 for the BE(Hons) major may not enrol in, and must not be granted credit for completing ECON1310.
- (2) A student who gains credit for STAT2201, STAT2203, CHEE2010, CHEE3010, CIVL2530 or MINE3214 is exempt from the requirement to gain credit for ECON1310, but must gain credit for 2 units in a BCom commerce elective course approved by the BEL executive dean (other than a course counted for the purposes of the student satisfying rule 3(1)(a)(ii) or 3(1)(a)(iii).

5 Transitional

A pre-2019 student may choose to complete the program under the rules in force on 31 December 2018, rather than under the current rules.