A carer with an elderly patient look at the sunset.
6 September 2018

University of Queensland experts are available to comment on a range of aspects relating to end-of-life, palliative and aged care. Journalists can contact the experts below, save them to contact lists for future reference, or search by topic or name at UQ Experts.

Professor Geoff Mitchell: g.mitchell@uq.edu.au, 0412 775117. Geoff is Professor of General Practice and Palliative Care. He was involved in the development of a Hospice and a regional palliative care network in Ipswich, and was the inaugural Director of the Centre for Palliative Care Research and Education.

Professor Len Gray: len.gray@uq.edu.au, 07 3176 5530. Len is the Director of UQ’s Centre for Health Services Research. He occupies the Masonic Chair in Geriatric Medicine, a position to which he was appointed when he joined the University in 2002. He has formal training in medicine as a specialist geriatrician and in health administration.

Dr Sarah Winch: sarah.winch@uq.edu.au, 0466 307440. Sarah is Head of the Discipline of Medical Ethics, Law and Professional Practice within UQ’s Faculty of Medicine and is the author of The best death: how to die well (UQP, 2017).

Professor Jill Wilson: wilsonj@uq.edu.au, 07 3365 1254. Jill is Director of Research with UQ’s School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work. Her research areas relate to policy and practice in the areas of aged care, substitute and assisted decision making, models of aged care, cognitive impairment and service models in disability, elder abuse, assets and ageing and end of life decision making. 

Professor Janet Hardy: janet.hardy@mater.org.au, 07 3163 5200, 0414 812 991. An Honorary Professor, Mater Research Institute-UQ. Janet is the Director of Palliative and Supportive Care across Mater Group. With a background in medical oncology, she has a particular interest in the management of advanced cancer.

Professor Anthony Herbert: Anthony.Herbert@health.qld.gov.au, 0427 080 555.  Anthony is a Senior Lecturer with UQ’s Children’s Health Queensland Clinical Unit and Director, Paediatric Palliative Care Service, Children's Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service. Research interests include communication in paediatric palliative care, education in palliative care and the role of music therapy in palliative care.  

Dr Paul Harpur: p.harpur@law.uq.edu.au, 0417 635 609. Paul’s relevant expertise is around age-based discrimination and the rights of older persons to exercise their rights to dignity, equality and health.

Associate Professor Andrew Crowden: a.crowden@uq.edu.au, 0429 801 465.  Andrew is a practical ethicist and bioethicist with extensive experience in clinical, research and organisational ethics. He is Associate Professor in Philosophy at UQ and leads the Research Ethics stream for the Australasian Association of Bioethics and Health Law.

Professor John Devereux: j.devereux@law.uq.edu.au. John’s relevant expertise is in medical law, tort law and criminal law, although not end-of-life specifically.

Media: UQ Communications, communications@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 1120 or +61 413 601 248.