3 November 2017

The University of Queensland has announced the results of elections and Governor-in-Council appointments to its 34th Senate.

Students, staff and graduates were able to vote for elected positions last month.

The Senate election was completed on 25 October 2017 and Chancellor Peter N Varghese congratulated the following successful candidates:

  • One member of the Academic Board: Associate Professor Greg Hainge (returning member)
  • One member of academic staff: Associate Professor Tony Roberts (returning member)
  • One member of professional staff: Ms Rebecca Hurst (new member)
  • One postgraduate student for 2018-2019: Mr Thomas Mackay (returning member)
  • One undergraduate student for 2018-2019: Mr Zachary Thomas (new member)
  • Three graduates of the University: Associate Professor Douglas Cavaye (new member), Adjunct Associate Professor Dimity Dornan AO (new member), and Ms Kathy Hirschfeld (returning member).

On 26 October Queensland Governor Paul de Jersey approved the following Governor-in-Council appointments as UQ Senate members for a four-year term from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021:

  • Ms Julieanne Alroe (new member)
  • Mr Timothy Crommelin (returning member)
  • Mr Philip Hennessy (returning member)
  • Dr Zelle Hodge AM (returning member)
  • Mr Jamie Merrick (returning member)
  • Mr Grant Murdoch (returning member)
  • Dr Sally Pitkin (new member)
  • Mrs Cecile Wake (new member).

The Chancellor welcomed the appointments and said the newly appointed members and returning members brought “deep corporate governance knowledge and experience”.

“Their contributions will be invaluable and I am delighted that they wish to participate in the life of our University in this way," Mr Varghese said.  

The Senate is the University’s peak governing body and is constituted by the University of Queensland Act 1998.

The 33rd Senate will end its four-year term on 31 December 2017, and the 34th Senate will begin its four-year term on 1 January 2018. 

Twenty-two members sit in official, appointed and elected capacities. The official positions are Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, President and President of the Academic Board.

The three Senate-appointed positions are yet to be filled.

The current composition of the Senate is here.

Contact: Dr John Montgomery, john.montgomery@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 1975.