UQ Team captain Mackenzie Sadler. Image: Sportography
UQ Team captain Mackenzie Sadler. Image: Sportography
27 September 2017

The University of Queensland is focussed on finishing undefeated in the inaugural Aon Uni 7s Series which concludes this weekend on the Gold Coast.

Bond University will stage Round 4 on 29 and 30 September, with UQ the favourites to achieve four straight tournament victories having won all 15 of its Uni 7s games.

Team UQ leads host Bond University by eight points in the overall standings with UQ expected to claim the maiden title with a finish of fifth place or better.

UQ coach Reg Tayler said his side was determined to maintain its flawless winning record.

“As a team we are really happy with our performance so far in the Aon Uni 7s Series,” Mr Tayler said.

“However, the job is not complete and we are looking for a clean sweep of the series on the Gold Coast.”

UQ has included Waytogo Rikk, Bri Rossato, Sarafina Vosuqa and Miranda Scroope in the 14-player squad for this weekend’s round.

Team UQ captain Mackenzie Sadler said the squad expected fierce competition at Bond University.

“We are hoping to finish the series on a high and take out all four legs – this would be a massive achievement for the team,” she said.

“I think the final leg of the competition will be the toughest we’ve come across because all teams are on the improve and are determined to win. 

“We’re excited by this and look foward to the challange.”

UQ will play University of Tasmania (1:40pm), University of New England (4pm) and University of Canberra (6pm) in pool games on Friday, with Semi-Finals to be played from 10am on Saturday.

All matches will be streamed live on rugby.com.au’s website and Facebook pages.

The University of Queensland – Aon Uni 7s Series team (Round 4):

1.Lily Dick

2.Jannicke IJdens (VC)

3.Grace Kaihau

4.Emma Sykes

5.Kobe Nona

6.Waytogo Rikk

7.Mackenzie Sadler (C)

8.Bodil Van Wijnbergen

9. Bri Rossato

10. Erica Fowler

11. Emilee Cherry

12.Georgia Hannaway

13. Sarafina Vosuqa

14. Miranda Scroope

Aon Uni 7s Series Ladder (after Round 3): 


1st: The University of Queensland (60 points)
2nd: Bond University (52 points)  
3rd: Macquarie University (48 points)
4th: Griffith University (38 points)
5th: University of Canberra (34 points)
6th: University of Adelaide (30 points)
7th: University of New England (26 points)
8th: University of Tasmania (24 points)

Media: Jamie Mitchell, UQ Sport, JamieM@uqsport.com.au, 0423 785 752.