Queensland voters will go to the polls on January 31
Queensland voters will go to the polls on January 31
4 February 2015

The following experts are available to comment to media on issues relating to the Queensland election and subsequent developments.

Journalists can search for experts on a wide range of topics at UQ Experts

__

Dr Lorann Downer, from the School of Political Science and International Studies is coordinating the advanced undergraduate course Queensland: People and Politics this coming semester. 

lorann.downer@uq.edu.au / 0431 281 665

__

Dr Chris Salisbury from the School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry, is an expert in Queensland’s political and electoral history, ‘"knowledge and innovation" policy, strategic policy, political leadership, and government slogans and branding.

c.salisbury@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6461 / 0439 883 731

__

Professor John Quiggin from the School of Economics, is an expert in economics, Australian economic policy, public asset sales, drought and economics, water and economics/politics, environment/climate change and economics, economic growth, tax, employment policy, political economy and "zombie economics".

j.quiggin@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 9646 / 0400 747 165

__

Dr Ian Ward, from the School of Political Science and International Studies, is an expert in political communication, politics and the media, election campaigning and governments’  increasingly sophisticated use of PR, parties and pressure groups, organisation and changing nature of political parties.

i.ward@uq.edu.au / +61 7 3365 2662

__

Professor Kath Gelber, from the School of Political Science and International Studies, is an expert in Australian politics, hate speech, human rights and freedom of speech. She is a former President of the Australian Political Studies Association, and still serves on its Executive Committee.

k.gelber@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2910 / 0408 441 576

__

Professor John Mangan, from the UQ Business School, is an expert in labour economics, taxation policy and regional economics.

j.mangan@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8100 / 0434 367 480

__

Dr Nicole Hartley from the UQ Business School is an expert in branding and social media.

n.hartley@business.uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3346 8022 / 0406 344 355

__

Associate Professor Martie-Louise Verreynne, from the UQ Business School, is an expert in small business management and small business policy.

M.Vereyenne@business.uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3346 8160 / 0439 531 199

__

Professor Graeme Orr, from the School of Law, is an expert in the  law of politics; law of elections; law - parties, finance; labour and employment law; language and law. g.orr1@uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3365 3014 / 0434 525 398.

__

Professor Andreas Schloenhardt, from the School of Law,  is an expert in criminal law, organised crime, terrorism, criminology, immigration law, criminal law, international criminal law, detention of refugees, refugee law, human rights law and drug trafficking. He is an expert in Queensland’s Vicious Lawless Association Disestablishment Act (the “VLAD law”).

a.schloenhardt@uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3365 6191 / 0438 303 442

__

Dr Daniel Angus, from the  School of Communication and Arts, is an expert in communication and data analytics. Dr Angus has used advanced computational techniques in previous state and federal elections to analyse public debates, social media commentary, traditional media, and candidate profile data. 

d.angus@uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3365 9765 / +61 7 3346 8255 / 0404 262 236

___

Dr John Harrison, from the School of Communication and Arts, is an expert in media ethics, spin, media ownership, media performance, advertising ethics, journalism, Twitter, Facebook

j.harrison@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8234

__

Vote Compass 

Tens of thousands of Queenslanders have explored their political options through Vote Compass, a joint project by the ABC, Vox Pop Labs and The University of Queensland.

Vote Compass is an online democratic engagement tool that allows people to work out where their views sit on the political spectrum and in relationship to the major political parties. Read more here.

Vote Compass contact at UQ: Simon Kelly, s.kelly3@uq.edu.au, ph 0449 869 230 

__

Contact: UQ’s central communications team on communications@uq.edu.au, ph +61 7 3365 1120.

More than 1000 UQ academics and researchers are listed on the UQ Experts search engine.