25 October 2013

The University of Queensland has announced results of the election to appoint eight members to its 33rd Senate.

The 22-member Senate is UQ’s governing body and represents University and community interests. Its functions include the appointment of staff and the management and control of UQ affairs, property and finances.

The newly elected members of the senate are:

Professor Jenny Strong (Academic Board); Associate Professor Anthony Roberts (academic staff); Mr Mark Starkey (professional staff); graduates Ms Katherine Hirschfeld, Dr Carla Tromans and Mr Michael Zivcic; postgraduate student Mr John Pickering; and undergraduate student Mr Elliott Johnson.

The UQ Senate comprises three official members (Chancellor Mr John Story, President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Høj and Academic Board President Professor Kaye Basford), eight members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, eight elected members and three additional members who are appointed by the Senate.

The 33rd Senate will run from 2014 to 2017, with the two student representatives appointed for 2014-2015 only.