6 September 2012

Two University of Queensland researchers are finalists in the 2012 Scopus Young Researcher of the Year awards, to be announced at the ARMS14th annual conference at the Gold Coast on Friday, September 21.

• Professor Ajayan Vinu, of UQ’s Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology is a finalist in the Engineering and Technology division (research focus: a study of protein adsorption); and

• Dr Genevieve Nissa Healy, of the Cancer Prevention Research Centre, UQ School of Population Health, is a finalist in the Medicine and Medical Sciences Division. Her research focus is in physical activity, sedentary time and blood glucose in Australian adults.

Division winners will receive a cash prize of AUD $1000.

The Scopus Young Researcher Awards are part of an Elsevier global initiative to support early career researchers in their quest to advance the frontiers of science across a broad range of disciplines.

The awards recognise outstanding young scientists and researchers in Australasia who have made significant contributions in their areas of research.

The winners and the finalists for the awards are selected by an independent panel of three experts per category.

Applicants are evaluated largely based on the key criteria; research impact (taking into account the average number of citations per paper and H-index which is derived from Scopus, Elsevier’s abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature), external impact, and esteem contribution.