27 August 2012

60 University of Queensland (UQ) professional staff members have been recognised as “Miracle Workers” at a special ceremony today, August 27.

UQ Chancellor Mr John Story presented the awards to the University's staff “quiet achievers” during a cocktail function at the Sir Llew Edwards building.

Colleagues and supervisors nominated this year's Miracle Worker award recipients.

Associate Director of UQ's Human Resources Division Dr Kerry Huish said the annual event provided an opportunity for the University to publicly recognise its dedicated staff.

“Miracle Workers have been nominated by colleagues and supervisors from a broad range of occupations, including administrative, scientific, research, IT, and technical occupations,” she said.

“They are people who have inspired their peers through various qualities in the workplace.”

Dr Huish said the Miracle Workers awards had gained momentum over their 17-year history.

The awards recognise the dedication, enthusiasm, leadership and organisational skills of the recipients.

“These awards are a great way of publicly recognising the valuable contribution that our professional staff make to the University,” she said.

The Miracle Worker Awards were established in 1995 by the Scitech General Staff Communications Group and originally grew out of a UQ Action Learning Program.

The administration of the Awards was taken over by the General Staff Association, then the UQ Secretaries and Office Professionals Association (now known as The University of Queensland Professionals Network). They are now administered by Human Resources Division.

This year's recipients are:

Individual winners
Ms Viola Temple-Watts, Academic Administration Directorate
Ms Susan O'Brien, ARC Centre of Excellence for Integrative Legume Research
Mr Ian McKeown, Arts Faculty
Ms Leigh Hope, School of Biomedical Sciences
Ms Rosalind Boulton, School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences
Ms Loretta Jamieson, EAIT Faculty
Mr James Norris, EAIT Faculty
Mrs Gail Smith, EAIT Faculty
Mrs Kerryn Morris, Greenslopes Clinical School
Mr Nick Dawbarn, Health Sciences Faculty
Mr James Donaldson, RD Milns Antiquities Museum, School of History, Philosophy, Religion and Classics
Ms Kirsten Rogan, Health Sciences Faculty
Ms Barbara Heath, Herston Health Sciences Library
Mrs Claudia Simpson, Human Resources Division
Mrs Sarah McDowell, Human Resources Division
Mr Brett Cheetham, Information Technology Services
Mr Dulip Ranasinghe, Information Technology Services
Ms Bronwyn Cash, Information Technology Services
Mr Nick Manning, Information Technology Services
Mr James Culverhouse, Information Technology Services
Mr Patrick Mole, Information Technology Services
Miss Angela Chau, Institute for Social Science Research
Ms Carissa Gray, Ipswich Clinical School
Mr Michael Fagg, Ipswich Library
Mrs Cheryl Brugman, Learning Hub
Ms Gwendoline Fletcher, Legal Office
Miss Kate Cuddihy, Office of Marketing and Communications
Ms Ginny Keegan, Office of Marketing and Communications
Ms Melissa Brown, Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Ms Tania Hudspith, Office of Marketing and Communications
Mrs Shari Bowker, Royal Brisbane Clinical School
Ms Deanna Holberton, Rural Clinical School
Mrs Beverley Hadfield, Rural Clinical School
Ms Vicki Percival, School of Nursing and Midwifery
Ms Jo Buzza Ryan, School of Nursing and Midwifery
Mrs Ann Lee, School of Psychology
Mr John McBreen, School of Psychology
Mrs Jennifer English, School of Psychology
Mr Hayden Goodwin, School of Psychology
Ms Julia Kaestner, Science Faculty
Mr Jurgen Overheu, Science IT Services
Mrs Cheryl Byrnes, Social and Behavioural Sciences
Mrs Rachel Smith, Social and Behavioural Sciences
Ms Carly Jordin, School of Social Science
Mr Peter Lowther, Student Centre – St Lucia Campus
Mr Eddie Fitzpatrick, Student Complaints and Grievance Resolution
Ms Lisa Davie, Student Fees
Ms Kelly Tomlinson, Sustainable Minerals Institute
Miss Tiffany Brown, UQ Centre for Clinical Research
Mrs Vicki Allen, UQ Centre for Clinical Research
Mrs Charmaine Lubke, School of Veterinary Science
Ms Joanne Harris, School of Veterinary Science

Group winner
UQ Library – UQ eSpace ERA Team members, Mrs Mary-Anne Marrington, Mr Christopher O’Keefe, Ms Imogen Ferrier, Mrs Christine Heslehurst, Ms Lyn Adams, Ms May Balagaize, Ms Ramona Hooyer, and Ms Dulcie Stewart.

Media: Jan King 0413 601 248