16 May 2012

UQ’s long standing tradition of celebrating outstanding athletic achievement, club commitment and scholarships was on display when the 2012 UQ Sport Club & Sports Awards were held on Saturday 12 May at the Innes Room, UQ St Lucia campus.

The award categories on the night aimed to honour club sport competition achievements in their discipline as well as coaches and individuals who have contributed significant time and effort in the running of a club.

Traditionally, the Club & Sports Awards have been combined with the awarding of the University Blues.

However, this arrangement has changed to allow for a greater focus on the successes of UQ sporting clubs.

UQ Sport’s Executive Director Bryan Pryde said there were many highlights over the past 12 months, with perhaps the greatest success coming in the form of resilience shown by many clubs during the flood and the challenges it presented.

“After the initial hardship many clubs picked themselves up and soldiered on,” Mr Pryde said.

“The new facilities constructed after the flood allowed athletes and club officials to get back to training, competition and social events.

“It goes without saying that the support many of these athletes receive from their clubs is essential to their success.

“We are proud of every sporting club at the University.

“Each club contributes to creating vibrant campuses all year round.

“The community spirit evident in all of them strengthens the idea that everyone can benefit from a healthy body and a healthy mind,” he said.

2012 UQ Sport Club & Sports Awards Winners

Club Administrator of the Year - Steve How Lum (UQ Powerlifting Club)
Club Volunteer of the Year - Andrew Parkinson (UQ Rugby Club)
Hulbert Bursary Award - UQ Cricket Club
The President's Cup - UQ Rugby Club
Club Service Awards - Michael Jenvey (UQ Football Club) & Danny Moore (UQ Tennis Club)
Club Coach of the Year - Jarrod Turner (UQ Cricket Club)
Club All-Rounder of the Year - Caitlin Sargent (UQ Athletics Club)
Sportswoman of the Year Award - Francesca Patterson (UQ Rowing Club)
Sportsman of the Year Award - Lev Susany (UQ Powerlifting Club)

Media: JP Crawford – PR & Communications Coordinator
Phone: (07) 3346 7518, Email: jpc@uqs.com.au