23 February 2012

UQ staff members and teams who have made an exceptional contribution to the University were recognised this month at the annual UQ Staff Recognition Awards.

UQ Chancellor, John Story, and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Debbie Terry, announced the winners of the three prestigious staff awards at a ceremony at the Queensland Brain Institute. The awards presented were the UQ Leadership Award, Chancellor's Award for Individual Excellence and Chancellor's Award for Team Excellence.

The Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) Program Administration Team at UQ Ipswich won the Chancellor's Award for Team Excellence. The team members are:

Doris Galea
Carissa Gray
Dr Margo Lane
Kylie O'Toole
Geoff Poole
Michelle Poole
Dr Philip Towers

The MBBS Administration Team was recognised for its high level of professionalism and exceptional teamwork, which allowed the UQ School of Medicine program at the Ipswich Campus to develop from scratch in 2009 to welcoming 90 new students to begin their medical degrees this year.

Also in the Health Sciences Faculty, the Head of the School of Human Movement Studies, Professor Doune Macdonald, received the UQ Leadership Award for “exceptional leadership” in one of the most complex Schools in the University.

Professor Macdonald has been Head of School since 2004. The School is one of the largest in Australia with some 80 Research Higher Degree students from Australia and overseas.

Mr Terry Weatherhog of Information Technology Services — Data Centre Operations — received the Chancellor's Award for Individual Excellence.

Mr Weatherhog’s award citation stated that he “was recognised as a prime example of the quiet, efficient, and consistently excellent service supplied by core infrastructure groups at UQ which often slips beneath the radar of observers.”

Mr Story and Professor Terry congratulated all the nominees, and thanked staff across the University who took time to nominate them. The nominees were:

UQ Leadership

Dr David Chin, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology
Donna Georgeson, Rural Clinical School, Toowoomba
Melanie King, Global Change Institute
Professor Paul Lant, School of Chemical Engineering

Individual Excellence
Michelle Best, Institute of Continuing & TESOL Education
Natasha Bromilow, BEL Faculty
Dr Tracey Henshaw, School of Population Health
Keith Hitchcock, Mechanical and Mining Engineering, EAIT Faculty
Janine Richards, Office of DVC (Research)
Megan Sandaver, School of Economics
Mina Singh, Faculty of Health Sciences

Team Excellence
Student and Academic Administration Team, Faculty of Arts — Belinda Ryan, Nicole Jackson, John Hughes, Justin Nicholls, Maureen Kovacich.

Admissions Team, Student Administration — Mark Campbell, Fiona Brandis-Dalton, Sarah L Rochford, Pru Byrnes, Clive McKeown, Heidi Hood.

Animal Welfare Unit, Research and Innovation Division — Ann Higgins, Michael Uren, Julie Farrelly.

Human Resources Team, Faculty of Business, Economics and Law — Robyn Rossback, Anita Ponturo, Natasha Bromilow, Declan Hughes, Samantha Tyler.

International Team, School of Medicine — Cecile McGuire, Elise Beck, Sue-Ellen Hogan, Hayley McCann, Kathryn Reid, Jonathan Stekhoven, Georgia Eddy.

UQ Solar Team — Professor Paul Meredith, Professor John Foster, Professor Tapan Saha, Professor Hal Grugenci, Craig Froome, Geoff Dennis, Adrian Mengede, Chris Collins.

Research and Innovation Division — Ann Higgins, Julie Farrelly, Michael Uren, Michael Tse, Susannah Whiteside, Stephen Colhoun, Susan Manion, Ian Harris, Nicole Thompson, Sally Beard, Adam Nielsen, Siona Saplos, Nicole Shively, Katie Cameron, Lissy Alvaran, Lisa Bolton, Veronica Brancatini, Matthew Browne, Marie-Louise Johnson, Kirsten Lawrie, Jennie Levitt, Taina Lloyd, Karen Lucas, Cristina Risco, Vicki Sheehy, Roberta Shields, Jen Sodziak, Penny Storey, Kylie Varcoe, Sendi Wings, Jane Malloch, Seyi Akosile, Dr Terry Bell, Erica Davis, Elise Neilson, Jill Penridge, Gail Roudenko, Sabine Sand, Cristy Sun.

Enterprise Applications Development Team, Information Technology Services Division — Greg Sutton, Tuan Dai, Maree Mason, Suzana Kovacevic, George Lester, Nicholas Rule, Hetal Javiya, Chris Scanlan, Sam Silva.

St Lucia Student Centre, Student Administration — Sallyanne Graham, Linda Edwards, Tasha Finn, Sudha Murugesan, Karen Blackburn, Chris Vieira, Jodie DeDauton, Natalia Moskwa, Denise Herzig, Tarin Stewart, Eunice Nguni, Sally Slarke, Peter Lowther, Mark Mucek, Gabriele Bugala, Anna Cotroneo, Tony Hartley, Beverley Podhajsky, Mel Cross, Nik Linnell.

MBA Team, UQ Business School — Associate Professor Polly Parker, Melissa Youlden, Caron Crossan.

International Student Tuition Fee Modelling Group — Jim Barham, Grant Kennett, Alison Campbell.

Administration Team, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology — Petrina Gilmore, Debbie Lord, Melanie Gibbons, Darius Koreis.

This is the third year of the Staff Recognition Awards, which were established in response to feedback from the University’s first Staff Engagement Survey, held in 2008.