16 November 2011

The Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences (SBS) celebrated the outstanding achievements of its top teachers at its annual faculty Teaching and Learning Awards ceremony late last month.

A group of dedicated and inspirational educators were acknowledged for having made exceptional contributions to enhancing student learning and enriching student experiences at The University of Queensland.

The Faculty's Associate Dean (Academic), Associate Professor Julie Duck, said the awards were a wonderful opportunity to highlight the dedication of SBS teaching staff in improving the education of students in the faculty.

"The level of commitment shown by our teachers in enhancing the learning experiences of our students astounds me," Dr Duck said.

"This year's recipients were chosen from one of the strongest fields of applicants we have had in recent years and we are delighted this group represents a number of our schools.

"I congratulate the success of our excellent educators."

The teaching staff received awards across three categories: Awards for Teaching Excellence, Award for Early Career Teaching Excellence, and Tutoring.

SBS Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence
>Associate Professor Andrew Hindmoor (School of Political Science and International Studies) for his understanding of what is needed to influence, motivate and inspire students to learn, providing them with connections between theory and public policy practice.

>Dr Adrian Cherney (School of Social Science) for his role as a leader and innovator in teaching and learning using flexible, student-centered learning environments and drawing upon technology to enhance the experience of students.

SBS Faculty Awards for the Early Career Teaching Excellence
>Dr Lynda Shevellar (School of Social Work and Human Services) for her enthusiasm and passion for teaching and learning, as well as her commitment to education innovation and transformative education.
Commendations for Early Career Teaching Excellence were also awarded to:

>Dr Fiona Barlow (School of Psychology)

>Dr Sebastian Kaempf (School of Political Science and International Studies)

Awards for Tutors
>Ms Theresa Scott (School of Psychology) for her confident and compassionate approach to tutoring and her commitment to enhancing the experience of 1st year students in the School of Psychology.

>Ms Joanne Brown (School of Psychology) for her role as an outstanding intermediary between students and course coordinator through the provision of a calm, respectful and open learning environment.

>Mr Kamil Shah (School of Political Science and International Studies) for his professionalism and collegiality and his outstanding capacity to engage students on complex issues with his friendly and positive disposition.

A Commendation for Tutoring was also awarded to Mr Michael Noetel (School of Psychology).

Media: Kristen Bastian, Senior Marketing and Communications Officer, Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences, on 3346 9279.