18 May 2011

UQ Ipswich has awarded 21 scholarships and prizes worth over 42,000 dollars to its students at a special function at The University of Queensland’s Ipswich Campus.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Alan Rix congratulated the recipients on their achievements and thanked the scholarship donors for their ongoing support.

“The scholarships and prizes are a testament to the dedication and quality of our students across all programs,” Professor Rix said.

“Our very generous donors provide invaluable assistance to help our students succeed.”

The Scholarship and Prizes Award Ceremony at UQ Ipswich Campus iincluded a private function for donors and recipients, followed by the official awards ceremony at 7pm.

This year’s winners are:

Kirsty Margaret Pledge – Heather Bonner Memorial Scholarship

Nalani Lee Cooper – Ipswich City Council “City of Ipswich” Scholarship

Katie Rachelle Christensen – Reverand Roy Edwards Memorial Bursary in Leadership

Benjamin Kenneth Direen – Bendigo Bank Scholarship in the Bachelor of Business

Emma Ralph – The Ipswich RSLA Sub Branch Scholarship in Nursing

Lewis Marshall – Clem Jones and E.W. (Ted) Jones Scholarship in Mathematics

Emily Polkinghorne – The Walter & Eliza Hall Trust Opportunity Scholarship in Nursing

Brett Sycz - The Queensland Times Prize (Business Communication)

Sara Matrice – Tri-Rhosen House Prize in the Bachelor of Nursing

Melany Edgerton - Peter John Akroyd Memorial Prize in the Bachelor of Nursing

Shari Bellingham – Accenture Prize, Pearson Education Australia Prize in the UQ Business School and Zonta Club of West Moreton Area Incorporated Prize in the Bachelor of Business (Accounting; Online Business)

Sikai Ng – Australian Computer Society Prize in the Bachelor of Business (Accounting; Online Business), Ipswich and District Law Association Prize in the Faculty of Business Economics & Law

King Hin Wong - International Student Prize

Ka Yan Lee – International Student Prize

Elizabeth Tierney – Ipswich Club of the War Widows' Guild of Australia (Queensland) Prize in the UQ Business School

Samantha Boyd – Ipswich Region Chamber of Commerce Prize in the School of Tourism

Samantha Gannaway – Kerner Doig Family Prize in the Bachelor of Education

Danika Hampel – Pearson Education Prize in the Bachelor of Human Services

Media: Jay Kewin (07 3381 1068 or j.kewin@uq.edu.au)