1 November 2010

The Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences celebrated the outstanding achievements of its top teachers at its annual faculty Teaching and Learning Awards ceremony today.

A group of dedicated and inspirational educators was acknowledged for having made exceptional contributions to enhancing student learning and enriching student experiences at The University of Queensland.

The faculty's Associate Dean (Academic), Associate Professor Julie Duck, said the awards were a wonderful opportunity to highlight the dedication of SBS teaching staff in improving the education of students in the faculty.

“The level of commitment shown by our teachers in enhancing the learning experiences of our students astounds me," Associate Professor Duck said.

"This year’s recipients were chosen from one of the strongest fields of applicants we have had in recent years and we are delighted that this group represents a number of our Schools.

“I congratulate the success of our excellent educators.”

The teaching staff received awards across three categories: Awards for Teaching Excellence, Enhancement of Student Learning, and Tutors.

SBS Faculty Awards for Teaching Excellence

• Dr Patrick Faulkner (School of Social Science) – for his integrated, interactive and student-centred approach to teaching, and the extensive field experience he brings to the classroom.
• Dr Blake McKimmie (School of Psychology) – for his commitment to a positive First-Year experience, his supportive engagement of students, and his innovative use of technology in teaching.

SBS Faculty Awards for the Enhancement of Student Learning

• Dr John Harrison (School of Journalism and Communication) – for the practical experience students are afforded through the 24/7 internet radio station, JACRadio. Dr Harrison’s team included Matthew Petersen and well-known national broadcasters, Donna Meiklejohn and Anthony Frangi.
• Ms Heather Stewart (School of Journalism and Communication) – for the Indigenous Voice project, a work-integrated learning model promoting cross-cultural awareness, specifically of Indigenous issues.

SBS Faculty Awards for Tutors

• Ms Rowena Brown (School of Psychology) – for considered engagement of students, an adaptive teaching style, and sustained effectiveness as a tutor.
• Ms Stacey Parker (School of Psychology) – for supporting students with unique learning needs, innovatively developing students’ graduate attributes, and self-reflective teaching practices.
• Mr Samid Suliman (School of Political Science and International Studies) – for a measured approached to creating a positive learning environment, consistent confirmation of tutoring effectiveness, and effectively facilitating critical reflection and dialogue.

Also acknowledged at the ceremony were winners of Australian Learning and Teaching Council Awards, Associate Professor Matthew Hornsey, Dr Greg Marston and Dr Shelley Dole, and a UQ Teaching Fellowship recipient, Associate Professor Karen Moni.

Media: Helen Burdon (Marketing and Communications Manager, Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences) 3346 9279, h.burdon@uq.edu.au