4 August 2008

UQ’s dedication to exceptional education standards has been recognised with five awards from the Australian Learning and Teaching Council.

Future allied health professionals, mining engineers and exercise scientists are among those learning from UQ’s top teachers, who were today included in the list of Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student learning, announced by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council.

The new citations bring UQ’s national teaching awards tally to 51, more than any other Australian university.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning), Professor Deborah Terry, congratulated the diverse group of educators.

“High-quality teachers not only contribute to the development of academia, but also increase the skills of the national and international workforce,” Professor Terry said.

“As well as creating a supportive and productive learning environment, excellent teachers inspire the mind and stretch intellectual boundaries.

“With recipients hailing from the School of Engineering to the School of Human Movement Studies to the School of Economics, the ALTC announcement is indicative of the breadth of teaching excellence at UQ.

“I congratulate the citation winners personally, and on behalf of those whose learning experiences they have enhanced.”

Previously known as the Carrick Institute, the ALTC is dedicated to enhancing teaching and learning within the Australian higher education sector.

UQ has an outstanding record in national teaching awards, having received more Awards for Teaching Excellence and Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning in 2007 than any other university.

The 2008 Awards for Teaching Excellence and Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning will be announced later in the year.

At ceremonies held around the country over the next few days, the ALTC will hand out over $2million in prize money to more than 200 of the nation’s best university teachers.

The Brisbane function is the first of the national series and will be held at UQ’s Customs House this evening.
UQ’s citation recipients included four individuals and one group nomination:

• Dr Mehmet Kizil, Chapel Hill, (School of Engineering) - For outstanding teaching, dedicated commitment and leadership in innovative curriculum development through successful national and industry collaboration in Mining Engineering.
Tel: 3365 4499, 0405 440 344

• Dr David Jenkins, Chapel Hill, (School of Human Movement Studies) - For sustained excellence in teaching exercise science to large undergraduate classes with a focus on social and professional engagement.
Tel: 3365 6768

• Dr Clair Hughes, Taringa, (Teaching and Educational Development Institute) - For enhancement of assessment practice through effective and sustained institutional leadership and educational support of academic teachers and leaders.
Tel: 3365 2456

• Dr John Steen, Toowong, (School of Business) – For excellence in business strategy case study teaching and coaching, resulting in exceptional performance by The University of Queensland in the Australasian BCG strategy competition.
Tel: 3365 7147, 0423 651 458

• Associate Professor Sylvia Rodger, Indooroopilly, Dr Gail Woodyatt, Dr Julie Marinac, Dr Pauline Watter and Associate Professor Jenny Ziviani (team nomination from the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences) – For sustained excellence in provision of innovative learning experiences for allied health students in promoting inter-professional knowledge, practice and teamwork.
Tel: Associate Professor Rodger (Team Leader): 3365 1664, 0414 530 460

MEDIA: Penny Robinson at UQ Communications (07 3365 9723, penny.robinson@uq.edu.au)