17 August 2001

The University of Queensland will hold a graduation ceremony on July 21 for Year 12 students who have participated in the Enhanced Studies Program in semester one, 2000.

The University has expanded its intake of students this year, the program's third successful year of operation. The Enhanced Studies Program introduces talented Year 12 students to university study.

Program academic co-ordinator and University Dean of Students Dr Lisa Gaffney said schools were active program partners. Each school was required to assure the University that it could provide adequate mentor care for the students.

"The program is a positive experience for students," she said. "Feedback from students who have completed first semester subjects were thrilled at their achievements and enjoyed the experience immensely." The program offers subjects in psychology, government studies, journalism, literature, management, mathematics, commerce, hospitality management, social studies, law, economics, drama, English, history, classics and ancient history, French, German, philosophy, science and animal studies.

"This year subjects have been offered at UQ's St Lucia, Gatton and Ipswich campuses." Program coordinator, Gabrielle O'Brien said school principals had nominated students capable of undertaking an extra tertiary level work load without prejudicing their Year 12 studies. "Enhanced Studies Program participants usually study in first semester and if they gain entry to a UQ course, can request credit for this subject," she said.

One hundred and forty-two students from 60 schools have participated in the program this year. The schools are: All Hallows School, All Saints Anglican School, Anglican Church Grammar School, Balmoral State High School, Brigidine College, Browns Plains State High School, Burnside State High School, Calvary and Logan Uniting Christian College, Camp Hill State High School, Capalaba State High School, Clayfield College, Clontarf Beach State High School, Coorparoo Secondary College, Corinda State High School, Corpus Christi College, Dakabin State High School, Everton Park State High School, Ferny Grove State High School, Grace Lutheran College, Holland Park State High School, Indooroopilly State High School, Iona College, Ipswich Girls Grammar School, Kedron Park State High School, Keebra Park State High School, Kenmore State High School, Kingston State High School, Loreto College, Mansfield State High School, Marist College (Ashgrove), Moreton Bay College, Mt St Michael's College Ashgrove, Nashville State High School, Noosa District State High School, Northside Christian College, Pine Rivers State High School, Redbank Plains State High School, Redeemer Lutheran College, Rivermount College, Robina State High School, Runcorn State High School, Somerville House, South Burnett Catholic College, Southern Cross Catholic College, Springwood State High School, St Aidan's Anglican Grammar School, St Joseph's College, Nudgee, St Laurence's College, St Margaret's School, St Patrick's College, St Peter's Lutheran College, St Rita's College, St Thomas More College, The Gap State High School, Toowong State High School, Trinity College, Wavell State High School, West Moreton Anglican College, Windaroo Valley State High School, Woodridge State High School and Yeronga State High School.

The graduation ceremony for Enhanced Studies 2000 participants will be held at the Abel Smith Lecture Theatre on the St Lucia campus at 4.45pm.

For further information: Gabrielle O'Brien at UQ Admissions, telephone
07 3365 4752 or Jan King at UQ Communications 0413 601 248.

Enquiries can also be directed to communications@mailbox.uq.edu.au
e electronic learning component which is complemented by face-to-face learning is that it is much more client focused and interactive. The majority of our students are senior professionals in key management positions and they expect high quality materials and fast response times to their queries.

Dr Liyanage said the courses combined real world case studies and significant interaction with industry.

About the participant organisations:
The Singapore Institute of Management (SIM) is an independent professional membership organisation founded in 1964 with the mission of helping to enhance managerial and organisational effectiveness in Singapore. Over the years, SIM expanded its role and scope beyond management development to become the leading human resource development organisation in Singapore. It was selected by the Ministry of Education in 1992 to run the Open University Degree Program (OUDP) in Singapore.

In 1997, SIM was invited by the Government to evolve into Singapore's third (and private) university. However, in view of the Institute's commitment to the continuing education of working adults, it proposed to the Government that the third university be set up as a separate institution. SIM therefore conceptualised the new university and this July, the new Singapore Management University (SMU) opened its doors to the first batch of students.

In 1993, SIM was the first educational and training institute in Asia to be awarded the PSB ISO 9002 certification for its management and delivery of programs and services. In 1999, the institute scored another significant milestone by becoming the first educational and training institute in Singapore to achieve the People Developer Standard, an award that recognises its commitment to staff development.

The University of Queensland (UQ) is a leader among Australia's 37 universities, recognised internationally as a premier research institution. It is one of only three Australian members of the elite Universitas 21 - a global alliance of 20 universities committed to quality enhancement through international benchmarking. In 1998 The University of Queensland was declared 1998-99 Good Universities Guides Australian University of the Year. In 2000 it has again received the maximum five star rating for prestige, student demand, positive graduate outcomes, getting a job, research performance, gender balance and staff qualifications.

Technology Management Centre, The University of Queensland
The Technology Management Centre offers postgraduate programs related to technology management in Australia and overseas and has produced more than 200 postgraduates with masters degrees, graduate diplomas and postgraduate certificates. The Centre also conducts specialised short courses designed to improve business performance.

The broad aim of the centre is to understand, integrate and promote the management of technology in industry, thereby improving business productivity and global competitiveness. Its core activities are teaching, research, and industry consultancy. The Centre has formed links with Australian and international firms including Nihon University, Japan, the Centre for Technology Commercialisation Inc, USA, and the Hong Kong Industrial Technology Centre Corporation.

Technology Management Centre staff undertake consultancy work with a variety of industries, international development agencies and other government organisations. These include the Australian International Development Assistance Bureau (AUSAID), University of Technology, Malaysia, Asian Development Bank, and the World Bank.

Media: Further information, Associate Professor Shantha Liyanage, telephone 61 7 3365 1615, email: s.liyanage@techman.uq.edu.au