18 July 2000

The University of Queensland will hold a graduation ceremony on July 21 for Year 12 students who have participated in the Enhanced Studies Program in semester one, 2000.

The University has expanded its intake of students this year, the program's third successful year of operation. The Enhanced Studies Program introduces talented Year 12 students to university study.

Program academic co-ordinator and University Dean of Students Dr Lisa Gaffney said schools were active program partners. Each school was required to assure the University that it could provide adequate mentor care for the students.

"The program is a positive experience for students," she said. "Feedback from students who have completed first semester subjects were thrilled at their achievements and enjoyed the experience immensely." The program offers subjects in psychology, government studies, journalism, literature, management, mathematics, commerce, hospitality management, social studies, law, economics, drama, English, history, classics and ancient history, French, German, philosophy, science and animal studies.

"This year subjects have been offered at UQ's St Lucia, Gatton and Ipswich campuses." Program coordinator, Gabrielle O'Brien said school principals had nominated students capable of undertaking an extra tertiary level work load without prejudicing their Year 12 studies. "Enhanced Studies Program participants usually study in first semester and if they gain entry to a UQ course, can request credit for this subject," she said.

One hundred and forty-two students from 60 schools have participated in the program this year. The schools are: All Hallows School, All Saints Anglican School, Anglican Church Grammar School, Balmoral State High School, Brigidine College, Browns Plains State High School, Burnside State High School, Calvary and Logan Uniting Christian College, Camp Hill State High School, Capalaba State High School, Clayfield College, Clontarf Beach State High School, Coorparoo Secondary College, Corinda State High School, Corpus Christi College, Dakabin State High School, Everton Park State High School, Ferny Grove State High School, Grace Lutheran College, Holland Park State High School, Indooroopilly State High School, Iona College, Ipswich Girls Grammar School, Kedron Park State High School, Keebra Park State High School, Kenmore State High School, Kingston State High School, Loreto College, Mansfield State High School, Marist College (Ashgrove), Moreton Bay College, Mt St Michael's College Ashgrove, Nashville State High School, Noosa District State High School, Northside Christian College, Pine Rivers State High School, Redbank Plains State High School, Redeemer Lutheran College, Rivermount College, Robina State High School, Runcorn State High School, Somerville House, South Burnett Catholic College, Southern Cross Catholic College, Springwood State High School, St Aidan's Anglican Grammar School, St Joseph's College, Nudgee, St Laurence's College, St Margaret's School, St Patrick's College, St Peter's Lutheran College, St Rita's College, St Thomas More College, The Gap State High School, Toowong State High School, Trinity College, Wavell State High School, West Moreton Anglican College, Windaroo Valley State High School, Woodridge State High School and Yeronga State High School.

The graduation ceremony for Enhanced Studies 2000 participants will be held at the Abel Smith Lecture Theatre on the St Lucia campus at 4.45pm.

For further information: Gabrielle O'Brien at UQ Admissions, telephone
07 3365 4752 or Jan King at UQ Communications 0413 601 248.

Enquiries can also be directed to communications@mailbox.uq.edu.au