12 February 1999

University re-elects Chancellor and elects new Deputy Chancellor

The University of Queensland's governing Senate has re-elected Sir Llew Edwards, AC as Chancellor and elected Mr Robert Wensley, QC as Deputy-Chancellor.

Sir Llew, the University's 12th Chancellor and Mr Wensley, the University's 15th Deputy Chancellor in the Senate's 89-year history, were elected for the three-year term of the University's 29th Senate (1999-2001).

As Chancellor Sir Llew chairs the 36-member Senate, belongs to University committees including art collections, finance and Senate executive committees, undertakes key ceremonial roles and represents the University externally.

Sir Llew, a Senate member since 1984, is a distinguished graduate of the University and a former Deputy Premier and Treasurer of Queensland. In 1972 he was elected to the Queensland Parliament as the Liberal Member for Ipswich. He was Minister for Health from 1974-78 and Deputy Premier and Treasurer until 1983.

He was appointed Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the World Expo '88 Authority in 1984. The University of Queensland awarded Sir Llew an honorary degree of Doctor of Laws at a special ceremony at World Expo in 1988. Sir Llew was made a Knight Bachelor in the 1984 New Years' honours list in recognition of his service to Queensland and in 1989 was made a Companion of the Order of Australia.

Mr Wensley's election as Deputy-Chancellor builds on extensive involvement in University affairs dating from student days when he served as first full-time President of the University of Queensland Union in 1969-70.

A member of the University Senate almost continuously since 1978, Mr Wensley has served the University in many roles including membership of several senior committees, two faculty boards, four University technology-transfer company boards and two residential college councils.

He has also been active in community relations and fundraising through the Alumni Association executive, the Senate development committee and through his current role as president of the University's annual appeal.

An honours graduate of the University in both engineering and law, Mr Wensley has been a barrister since 1976 and a Queen's Counsel since 1993. His commercial legal practice has had particular concern with matters of engineering, construction and technology.

Mr Wensley has held many community and legal appointments including acting District Court judge, member of the Queensland Building Tribunal and membership of the Twelfth Night Theatre Company Board.

See the attached sheet for the complete membership of the University's 29th Senate.

For further information, contact Media and Information Services, telephone 07 3365 3049.

Ex-Officio Members:

Vice-Chancellor Professor John Hay; Director-General of Education Mr Terry Moran; Academic Board President Professor Cindy Gallois; University of Queensland Academic Staff Association President Associate Professor Kuldip Bedi; University of Queensland Union President Mr Matthew Carter; Anglican Archbishop of Brisbane Most Rev Peter Hollingworth; Roman Catholic Archbishop of Brisbane Most Rev John Bathersby.

Eleven Members appointed by the Governor-in-Council:

Ms Judith Bell, Mr Ted Edwards, Sir Llewellyn Edwards, Mr Michael Lavarch, Mr Paul Thomas Lucas MLA, Mr A.E. de Norbury Rogers, Dr Marie Siganto, Mr Nicholas Stump, Ms Patricia Thompson, Dr David Watson MLA, Justice Margaret White.

One Member of the Academic Board of the University appointed by that Board:

Professor John de Jersey.

Three persons appointed by and from the full-time graduate staff of the University:

Associate Professor Kaye Basford, Professor Gordon Grigg, Ms Jan Massey.

One person appointed by and from the full-time non-graduate staff of the University:

Ms Kay Whitfield.

Two students appointed by and from the body of students of the University:

Ms Katie Connolly, Mr Christopher Crawford.

Eight persons appointed by Convocation:

Mr Denis Brosnan, Mr John Desmarchelier, Mr John Grigg, Dr John Fenwick, Dr Mary Mahoney, Dr Karin Walduck, Mr Robert Wensley QC, Ms Agnes Whiten.

Two persons appointed by Senate:

To be appointed