In 1988, the Academic Board of The University of Queensland, with financial support from the Alumni Association, instituted annual Awards for Excellence in Teaching (AET). In 2008, the awards were renamed Awards for Teaching Excellence (ATE).

The awards give recognition to individuals and teams renowned for excellence in teaching and who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching at The University of Queensland.

There are eight ATE award categories and up to five ATE awards in total are granted each year at the discretion of the University Teaching and Learning Committee. Each award winner will receive a certificate and a grant of $10,000.

Winners are listed below with a link to their citation.

2017 Winners - Awards for Teaching Excellence section

Associate Professor Timothy McIntyre – School of Mathematics and Physics

Graduate Diploma of Professional Computing, USQ Graduate Certificate in Education, UQ Doctor of Philosophy, ANU Bachelor of Science (Honours), ANU A/Prof McIntyre has taken a leadi...

Dr Barbara Maenhaut – School of Mathematics and Physics

Bachelor of Math, Wat. Bachelor of Education, W.Ont. PhD (Mathematics), UQ Dr Maenhaut is a passionate teacher of mathematics who has been teaching at UQ since 2003. Her specialty is discrete ma...

Dr Chris Landorf – School of Architecture

PhD, Deakin University Royal Australian Institute of Architects Fellow, FRAIA Bachelor of Architecture, South Australian Institute of Technology Bachelor of Arts (Interior Design), South Australia...

On this site