In 1988 the Awards for Teaching Excellence (formerly Awards for Excellence in Teaching) were inaugurated to reward University teachers who had been recognised by their students and their peers for sustained excellence in teaching. These awards are open to academic staff with teaching or teaching/research appointments who have made a broad and deep contribution to enhancing the quality of learning and teaching at The University of Queensland. Five awards are granted each year at the discretion of Teaching and Learning Committee. Each award winner will receive a grant of $10,000.

2009 Winners - Awards for Teaching Excellence section

Winner: Associate Professor Lawrence Gahan

Associate Professor Lawrie Gahan has taught with distinction at The University of Queensland since 1984, lecturing at all levels in chemistry. He has a sustained record of mentorship of undergraduate research students and successful supervision of Honours

Winner: Dr Greg Marston

Dr Greg Marston has successfully completed the Graduate Certificate in University Teaching, developed his skills as a dynamic, inclusive and highly effective lecturer in large and small classes, and assumed a leading role in the undergraduate and postgrad

Winner: Dr Helen Keates

Dr Helen Keates has demonstrated teaching excellence over many years. After beginning her working life as a high school teacher, she soon broadened her horizons and indulged her love of science and animals by completing the veterinary science program. Hel

Winner: Dr Mark Horswill

Dr Mark Horswill is a gifted and committed teacher. He has the ability to communicate his passion for his work, his love of teaching and his interest in young people in a way that inspires and encourages students from a wide range of backgrounds and acade

Winner: Dr Shelley Dole

Dr Shelley Dole is a senior lecturer in mathematics education. She teaches into the Bachelor, Graduate Diploma and Master of Education programs and supervises research higher degree candidates.

On this site