In 2002 the University presented its first Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning (formerly Awards for the Enhancement of Student Learning) to recognise programs and services that enhance the quality of student learning and the quality of the student experience at The University of Queensland. They are awarded to projects/services initiated by curriculum teams, groups or organisational units.
There are seven award categories with up to four awards granted each year at the discretion of the Teaching and Learning Committee. Each award winner will receive a grant of $10,000.


2009 Winners - Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning section

Category 2: Educational partnerships and collaborations with other organisations

Winner: Mining Education Australia. School of Mechanical and Mining Engineering and Teaching and Educational Development Institute. Project Team: Dr Mehmet Kizil, Professor Peter Knights, Dr Basil Beamish, Professor Paul Lever, Dr Saiied Aminossadati, Dr

Category 3: The first-year experience

Winners: UQ Engineering and Engineers without Borders (EWB) Design Challenge in first Year Engineering. Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Information Technology. Project Leader: Professor Caroline Crosthwaite. Project Team: UQ Engineering

Category 5: Innovation in curricula, learning and teaching

Winners: UQ Biotechnology Program: School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences and School of Business. Project Team: Professor Ross Barnard, Dr Damian Hine, Dr Steven Reid

Category 6 : Postgraduate Education

Winners: Preparing Postgraduate Students for Careers in Writing, Editing, and Publishing. School of English, Media Studies, and Art History. Project Team: Dr Roslyn Petelin and Dr Kim Wilkins.

On this site