A bachelor degree involves 3-5 years of full-time study, providing the knowledge and skills for work in a specialist area.

Within a bachelor program, there is often an opportunity to choose areas of specialisation (eg majors). You study a series of courses that all have a specific value (at UQ it is normally two units). To be awarded a degree you have to complete a total number of units with a certain number studied in specific areas.

Bachelor degrees are often the first step toward further advanced study, or they can be taken in conjunction with another bachelor degree. This combination is called a dual program.

UQ offers over 100 different bachelor degrees, including dual programs, of which the following are some examples:

  • Bachelor of Arts
  • Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Engineering
  • Bachelor of Law
  • Bachelor of Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Bachelor of Music

Some examples of dual degrees:

  • Arts / Laws
  • Commerce / Laws
  • Engineering / Economics
  • Environmental Management / Laws
  • Music / Education
  • Science / Arts


Further information about dual degrees, including a link to a list of dual degree program planners. If a program is offered in a dual degree combination, a list of links to the dual degree options will appear under the 'What you can study' section of the program's information page.

Either search for a program's information page:

Or, browse Bachelor programs by study area:

Or, browse an A - Z list of Bachelor programs