

Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) / Bachelor of Economics

1 Definition

In these rules—

approved combination means a combination of courses that is approved by the executive dean.

BEcon major means an approved combination of 12 units from Group 2 of the BEcon course list, of which 6 units are at level 3.

BEL executive dean means the executive dean of the BEL faculty.

BE(Hons) major means major as defined in the BE(Hons) program rules.

ECON course means a course whose discipline descriptor is 'ECON'.

program means the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)/Bachelor of Economics dual degree program.

2 Field of study

A student must undertake the BE(Hons) component of the program in an approved field.

3 Program requirements

- (1) To complete the program, a student must complete 88 units, comprising—
 - (a) 36 units from the BEcon course list, comprising—
 - (i) 20 units from Group 1, not including ECON1050; and
 - (ii) either—
 - (A) a BEcon major and 4 units from Group 3; or
 - (B) 16 units from Group 3 with no more than 4 units of non-ECON coded courses; and
 - (b) 52 units from the BE(Hons) course list, comprising a BE(Hons) major.
- (2) For rule 3(1)(a)(ii), no more than 6 units of level 1 courses may be counted and a student must complete at least 8 units of level 3 courses.
- (3) Unless a different intention appears in these rules, a student must comply with the program rules for both degrees.

4 Special rules

4.1 ECON1310

- (1) A student required to complete STAT2201, STAT2203, CHEE2010, CHEE3010, CIVL2530 or MINE3214 for the engineering major may not enrol in, and must not be granted credit for completing ECON1310.
- (2) A student who completes STAT2201, STAT2203, CHEE2010, CHEE3010, CIVL2530 or MINE3214 is exempt from the requirement to completeECON1310, but must complete 2 units in an ECON course approved by the BEL executive dean (other than a course counted for the purposes of a student satisfying rule 3(1)(a)).

5 Transitional

A pre-2018 student may choose to complete the program under the rules in force on 31 December 2017, rather than under the current rules.