PROGRAM RULES



Bachelor of Economics

1 Definition

In these rules—

compulsory courses means all courses in group 1 of the BEcon course list.

general electives means courses from group 2, 3 or 4 of the BEcon course list, not including courses under rule 3.1(b), or 3.1(c), or from another undergraduate program approved by the executive dean.

major means a combination of 14 units in courses listed in Group 4 of the BEcon list, of which 6 units are level 3 courses, approved by the executive dean.

pre-2011 student means a student who first enrolled in the program before 1 January 2011.

2 Field of Study

- (1) A student may undertake a major in a field approved by the executive dean if the major comprises courses mentioned in rule 3(1), other than compulsory courses.
- (2) In addition, a student may undertake a second major in a field approved by the executive dean if the major comprises courses mentioned in rule 3(1), other than compulsory courses.

3 Program requirements

- (1) To complete the program, a student must gain credit for 48 units in the BEcon course list, comprising—
 - (a) 20 units in compulsory courses; and
 - (b) 10 units in courses listed in Group 2; and
 - (c) 10 units in courses listed in Group 3; and
 - (d) 8 units in general electives.
- (2) A student may gain credit for up to 8 units in courses at level 1, not including courses in rule 3(1)(a).

4 Maximum credit for other study

The maximum credit that the associate dean (academic) may grant for other studies is 24 units.

Note see PPL 3.50.03 Credit for Previous Studies and Recognised Prior Learning.

5 Transitional

A pre-2011 student may complete the program under the rules in force on 31 December 2010, rather than under the current rules.