The five UQ Animal Ethics Committees and closing dates for submissions are listed below. Please note that the relevant units listed for each Committee are a guide only. Each Committee inspects various animal houses and the default position for consideration of the application is usually to the AEC that inspects the relevant animal house rather than the location of the Chief Investigator of a project.

Please be aware that effective Monday 1st August 2016 hard copy submission of animal ethics documentation is no longer required. Complete forms should be hand signed, scanned, and forwarded to the relevant committee via email.

Please do not hesitate to contact the relevant Committee mailbox for further information or assistance. If you are unsure which Animal Ethics Committee relates to your work, please contact the Animal Ethics Unit.

Anatomical Biosciences Ethics Committee (ABS)

awu.aec.abs@research.uq.edu.au

Possible Relevant Units:

  • SBMS - School of Biomedical Sciences
  • AIBN - Australian Institute for Bioengineering & Nanotechnology
  • QBI - Queensland Brain Institute

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2017:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 3 February 2017
March Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 3 March 2017
April Meeting Closing Date -Friday, 31 March 2017
May Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 28 April 2017
June Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 2 June 2017
July Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 30 June 2017
August Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 28 July 2017
September Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 1 September 2017
October Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 29 September 2017
November Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 3 November 2017
December Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 1 December 2017

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2018:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 2 February 2018


Production and Companion Animals (PCA)

awu.aec.pca@research.uq.edu.au

Possible Relevant Units:

  • SAFS - School of Agriculture and Food Sciences
  • SVS - School of Veterinary Science
  • GVEC - Gatton Campus Management
  • QAAFI - Queensland Alliance for Agriculture & Food Innovation

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2017:

February Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 9 February 2017
March Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 9 March 2017
April Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 6 April 2017
May Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 4 May 2017
June Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 8 June 2017
July Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 6 July 2017
August Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 3 August 2017
September Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 7 September 2017
October Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 5 October 2017
November Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 9 November 2017
December Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 7 December 2017

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2018:

February Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 8 February 2018

 

Molecular Biosciences Ethics Committee (MBS)

awu.aec.mbs@research.uq.edu.au

Possible Relevant Units:

  • All projects involving Zebrafish
  • IMB - Institute of Molecular Bioscience
  • TetraQ
  • UQBR - University of Queensland Biological Resources
  • CAI - Centre for Advanced Imaging
  • CHEM - Chemistry
  • SBS - School of Biological Sciences
  • UQCCR - University of Queensland Centre for Clinical Research
  • SCMB - School of Chemistry & Molecular Bioscience
  • PSYC - School of Psychology

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2017:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 27 January 2017
March Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 24 February 2017
April Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 24 March 2017
May Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 21 April 2017
June Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 26 May 2017
July Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 23 June 2017
August Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 21 July 2017
September Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 25 August 2017
October Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 22 September 2017
November Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 27 October 2017
December Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 24 November 2017

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2018:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 26 January 2018

 

Health Sciences Ethics Committee (HS)

awu.aec.hs@research.uq.edu.au

Possible Relevant Units:

  • Health sciences related work at hospitals - RBH, PCH, PAH, RCH, Mater
  • PHARM - School of Pharmacy
  • MMRI - Mater Medical Research Institute
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • PRC - Perinatal Research Centre
  • PACE - Pharmacy Australia Centre of Excellence
  • TRI - Translational Research Institute
  • UQDI - University of Queensland Diamantina Institute
  • DENT - School of Dentistry

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2017:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 10 February 2017
March Meeting Closing Date - Friday,10 March 2017
April Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 7 April 2017
May Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 5 May 2017
June Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 9 June 2017
July Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 7 July 2017
August Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 4 August 2017
September Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 8 September 2017
October Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 6 October 2017
November Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 10 November 2017
December Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 8 December 2017

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2018:

February Meeting Closing Date - Friday, 9 February 2018

 

Native/Exotic Wildlife and Marine Animals (NEWMA)

awu.aec.newma@research.uq.edu.au

Possible Relevant Units:

  • All projects involving wildlife species (captive or free ranging)

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2017:

February Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 2 February 2017
March Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 2 March 2017
April Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 30 March 2017
May Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 27 April 2017
June Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 1 June 2017
July Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 29 June 2017
August Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 27 July 2017
September Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 31 August 2017
October Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 28 September 2017
November Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 2 November 2017
December Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 30 November 2017

Agenda Submission Due Dates 2018:

February Meeting Closing Date - Thursday, 1 February 2018