The 2017 UQ Sport 1500m Classic
The 2017 UQ Sport 1500m Classic
1 November 2017

Australian middle-distance runners UQ alumnus Brittany McGowan and Jordan Williamsz will return to The University of Queensland tomorrow to defend their race titles at the 2017 UQ Sport 1500m Classic.

The annual event at the UQ Sport Athletics Centre will feature a full program of 1500m races.

McGowan will chase her fourth 1500m Classic win, following victories in 2016, 2013 and 2012.

The 2017 Mitchell Street Mile winner competed for Australia in the 800m at the IAAF World Championships in London in August, and set a personal best 1500m time of 4:12.14 at the Göteborg Folksam GP in Sweden in June.

Dual Olympian Zoe Buckman will also contest the Women’s Classic, fresh from making the 1500m Semi-Final at this year’s World Championships.

The 28-year-old was a 1500m semi-finalist at the 2016 Rio and 2012 London Olympic Games, and a three-time national 1500m champion, in2011, 2013 and 2014.

UQ Sport 1500m Classic director Mr Tom Brandt said the Women’s 1500m Classic field was one of the strongest in the event’s 14-year history.

“We’re delighted to have Brittany McGowan back to defend her title, and having Zoe Buckman in the field is a major coup,” Mr Brandt said.

“Zoe is one of Australia’s premier 1500m runners and is certainly among the biggest names we’ve had compete.”

Defending the Men’s 1500m Classic champion, Williamsz made the 1500m semi-finals at the 2017 World Championships and was a member of Australia’s 4x800m team that finished fourth at the 2017 IAAF World Relays in The Bahamas.

Australian World Championships teammate Stewart McSweyn is also a confirmed starter.

Gold Coast 2018 hopefuls will have an early opportunity to test themselves against the Commonwealth Games qualifying standard.

“With extra incentive to set an ‘A’ or ‘B’ qualifier, we could see race records broken with a ‘B’ standard fast enough to establish a new mark in both the men’s and women’s races,” Mr Brandt said.

More than  250 athletes will compete at the event, with races for school-aged athletes,  race wakers, and masters and open-age competitors.

A total prize pool of $4800 will be up for grabs, including $1200 for the victors of the feature Men’s and Women’s 1500m Classic races.

Racing will start at 5:20pm, with free entry for spectators.

UQ Sport 1500m Classic – Previous Winners:

                        Men                                        Women

2016               Jordan Williamsz                 Brittany McGowan

2015               Max Daddo                           Lara Crouch

2014               Jordan Gusman                   Olivia Burdon

2013               Nick Toohey                          Brittany McGowan

2012               Nick Toohey                          Brittany McGowan

2011               Daniel Bulmer                      Katelyn Simpson

2010               Nick Toohey                          Katelyn Simpson

2009               Mitch Kealey                         Margie Atthow

2008               Nick Toohey                          Lisa Corrigan

2007               Mitch Kealey                         Anna Worland

2006               Mitch Kealey                         Lisa Corrigan

2005               Yucef Abdi                           Emma Rilen

2004               David Byrne                          Emma Rilen

Media: Jamie Mitchell, UQ Sport,, 0423 785 752.