UQ Gatton Museum
UQ Gatton Campus
Memorabilia collected over half a century by past students and staff forms the UQ Gatton Museum.
The UQ Gatton Museum has fascinating photographs and artefacts on display featuring the development of the Campus and community under its identities as the Queensland Agricultural College, Queensland Agricultural High School and College and since 1990 as The University of Queensland, Gatton Campus.
Historical publications such as "Faces and Places" and "Gatton College - 100 Years of Science and Practice" are available for purchase. For a self-guided tour, a new publication "The Stories So Far" (2004) features the Heritage Walk around the Gatton Campus which was established in 1897. It is available from the UQ Gatton Museum office or the UQ Gatton Past Students Association office.
The UQ Gatton Museum is open most Monday afternoons between 1.00 pm and 4.00 pm and at other times by prior arrangement.
Location: Downstairs, Morrison Hall (8123) UQ Gatton Campus
Administrative Officer: Margaret Reisenleiter
Telephone: (07) 5460 1724
For many decades, the banner sign of QAC greeted students and visitors to the campus at the Warrego Highway entrance and former Lawes Railway Siding. The wooden troughs and bull hitching rail are from the Farm Square precinct (circa 1899) and are now on display at the UQ Gatton Museum in Morrison Hall, formerly Shelton House (dormitory circa 1936).
The Emerald Green graduation gowns were used during the 1970s, ‘80s and until mid-90s. The College Mace, handcrafted from Silky Oak timber, was made in 1982 by former student and staff members Stan Petherick and Ross Murray. Its first public occasion was on Graduation Day, 30 April 1982, and carried by Mr Petherick who had then recently retired from the College as a teaching staff member.
Henry Cottrell Webb 1897-1900
First Diploma Student of the College
(1954 Gatton College Magazine p74)
First Diploma Student Henry Cottrell Webb 1897-1900
Q150 Poster Project - Posters display History of Gatton College