Go to The University of Queensland Homepage
Welcome to the Vertebrate Palaeontology & Biomechanics Lab Homepage You are at the Vertebrate Palaeontology & Biomechanics Lab site

 Lab Members

More Information
Dr Steve Salisbury
Kerry Geddes
Tamara Fletcher
Matt Herne
Lucy Leahey
Jay Nair
Anthony Romilio
Caitlin Syme
Postgraduate Projects
Lab Members
Members of the 2005 Isisford Expedition. From left to right: Lucy Leahey (PhD candidate), Dr Nick Milne (University of Western Australia), Matt Herne (PhD candidate), Tim Holt (former Honours student), Kerry Geddes (Research Assistant), Dr Yoshitaka Yabumoto (Kitakyushu Museum of Natural History and Human History), Dr Steve Salisbury (Lab Leader), Murray Williams (volunteer). Photo: Steve Salisbury.


Dr Steve Salisbury
Senior Lecturer
Room 136a
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 8548
Facsimile: +61 7 3365 1655
Mobile: +61 407 788 660
Email: s.salisbury@uq.edu.au
Twitter: @implexidens


Linda Pollard
Research Assistant
Room 136
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3346 9884
Email: lpollard@live.com.au



PhD candidates

Tamara Fletcher
Project title: The palaeoenvironment of the Upper Cretaceous (Cenomanian–Turonian) portion of the Winton Formation, Queensland, Australia
Room 113
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 1398
Email: tamara.l.fletcher@gmail.com

Lucy Leahey
Project title: Minmi and the early evolution of ankylosaurian dinosaurs
Room 113
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 1398
Email: l.leahey@uq.edu.au

Jay Nair
Project title: Anatomy and evolution of near-sauropods and early sauropod dinosaurs from the Late Triassic–Middle Jurassic of Gondwana
Room 113
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 1398
Email: jayraptor@gmail.com

images/ 	Kerry-drilling-2005-l.jpg
Kerry Geddes hard at work preparing fossils from Isisford in the Vertebrate Palaeontology and Biomechanics Lab. Photo: Steve Salisbury.

Anthony Romilio
Project title: The ichnological record of Australian Cretaceous ornithopodan dinosaurs: diversity, behaviour, and implications for the evolution of pedal posture
Room 113
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 1398
Email: a.romilio@uq.edu.au

Caitlin Syme
Project: Taphonomic characteristics and geochemical properties of Cretaceous vertebrate fossils from the Winton Formation, Queensland
Room 113
Goddard Building (Bldg #8)
Telephone: +61 7 3365 1398
Email: c.syme@uq.edu.au
Twitter: @taphovenatrix

Ryan Tucker
Project: Stratigraphy, Sedimentation and Taphonomy of the mid- Cretaceous (late Albian- Cenomanian) Winton Formation, Central Queensland, Australia
(Co-supervised with Eric Roberts and Paul Dirks)
School of Earth and Environmental Sciences
James Cook University, Townville, Qld

Honours candidates

Elspeth Johnson
Honours (2013–2014)
Project title: Locomotor kinematics and bracing mechanics in varanids
Email: elspeth.johnson@uqconnect.edu.au



Kerry Geddes
Senior fossil preparator (2003–2013)



Rodney Berrell
Honours (2007)
Project title: A new freshwater fish (Teleostei: Ichthyodectiformes)
from the mid-Cretaceous (Albian-Cenomanian) Winton Formation
of Isisford, central-western Queensland, Australia
Email: rodneyberrell@yahoo.com

Alice Buttershaw
Honours (2010)
Project title: Anatomy and function of the uhyral valve in crocodilians
Email: alice.buttershaw@uqconnect.edu.au

James Condon
BIOL3012 (Introduction to Research, 2007)
Project: Morphological adaptations to aquatic locomotion in varanid lizards
Email: s4079083@student.uq.edu.au

Amelia Cook
Honours (2012–2013)
Project: The affect of seasonal environmental changes on bone growth in captive Indo-Pacific crocodiles (Crocodylus porosus)
Email: amelia.cook@uqconnect.edu.au

Amanda Denton
Honours student (2009)
Project title: Osteological variability in wild and captive raised crocodilians
Email: s4120298@student.uq.edu.au

Stephen Faggotter
BIOL3013 (Special Projects, 2007)
Project: A new freshwater elopiform fish (Teleostei: Elopomorpha) from the mid-Cretaceous (Albian-Cenomanian) Winton Formation of Isisford, central-western Queensland
Email: s.faggotter@griffith.edu.au

Plastering dinosaurs bones during the 2007 UQ Winton Expedition. Clockwise from botton left: Tamara Fletcher, Jay Nair, Lucy Leahey and Rodney Berrell. Photo: Steve Salisbury.

Jeff Hanson
Honours (2011–2012)
Project: Using stable isotopes to assess the relationship between body-size, habitat use and diet in estuarine crocodiles (Crocodylus porosus)
Email: jeffrey.hanson@uqconnect.edu.au

Matt Herne
PhD (awarded 2013)
Project: Anatomy, systematics and phylogenetic relationships of the Early Cretaceous ornithopod dinosaurs of the Australian-Antarctic rift system
Email: m.herne@uq.edu.au

Tim Holt
Honours (2005)
Project: New material of Mekosuchus inexpectatus (Crocodyloidea; Mekosuchinae)
from the Holocene of New Caledonia
Email: afsan33@gmail.com

Stewart Macdonald
Honours (2004-2005)
Proeject: Axial muscle activation in swimming crocodilians
Email: stewart@reptilesdownunder.com

Shonel Messer
SCIE3012, Introduction to Research (2007)
Project title: A new longirostrine crocodilian from Plio-Pleistocene of the Darling Downs, south-eastern Queensland
Email: shonelly@hotmail.com

Moritz Pfannkuch
SCIE3012, Introduction to Research (2008)
Project title: Taphonomy of a sauropod bonebed assemblage from the mid-Cretaceous Winton Formation of central-western Queensland
Email: moritzpfannkuch@gmx.de

Jeremy Ringma
Honours (2010–2011)
Project title: Swimming kenematics of two Australian semi-aquatic lizards: Physignathus lesueurii and Varanus mertensi
Email: jeremy.ringma@uqconnect.edu.au

Chris Schodt
Independent Study Project, World Learning Australia (2008)
Project title: Taphonomy of a dinosaur bonebed from the mid-Cretaceous
Winton Formation of central-western Queensland
Email: cschodt@macalester.edu

Bernadette Wittwer
Honours (2010)
Project title: Architecture and function of the adductor chamber in the first modern crocodilian, Isisfordia duncani
Email: bernadette.wittwer@uqconnect.edu.au


Griffith Young (2009–2012)
Anna Beauchemin (2008)
Susan Blasi (2008)
Michael Crowley(2008)
Tanya Mellar (2006)
Catherine Ngo (2008)
Wilhelmina Roda (2005-2006)
Alex Sen (2007-2008)
Jenny Theobald (2008)
Rebecca Wicke (2008)