peatli project in Indonesia  


ABOUT

The School of Communication and Arts, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, and TC Beirne School of Law are collaborating with the Indonesian Peatland Agency (BRG) and Universitas Indonesia to offer a multidisciplinary group of UQ students the opportunity to work on a real-life project in Indonesia in 2019.

The group of students will be tasked with the development of a community engagement strategy to support the BRG’s peatland restoration programs, which will be done in collaboration with a representative community in Central Kalimantan, and facilitated by BRG field staff and students from the Communication Department of Universitas Indonesia.

A number of grants funded by the New Colombo Plan are available to cover the cost of the trip to Indonesia.

REQUIREMENTS

The project is intended for students who are:

  • Interested in doing a transdisciplinary project in Indonesia with rural communities and local institutions;
  • Doing an undergraduate degree at UQ;
  • Able to fit the project in their undergraduate program through an internship or special studies course in Semester 2 2019;
  • Available to be involved in preparatory work in Semester 1 2019 and a 16-day visit to Indonesia in June-July 2019.

APPLICATION  PROCESS

If you are interested to participate in the project, please complete and send the expression of interest form to A/Prof. Elske van de Fliert (e.vandefliert@uq.edu.au) by 16 November 2018. Selection of successful applicants will be announced by 30 November 2018.

Expression of interest form

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Presentation of the information session on 25 October 2018

Recordings of the information session on 25 October 2018

A brief introduction to peatlands and peatland restoration

General  information about project stakeholders:

·         Indonesian Peatland Restoration Agency (TwitterFacebook)

·         Universitas Indonesia

·         UQ and Indonesia

·         The New Colombo Plan Mobility Program


CONTACT:

For more information: 

SCA:       A/Prof. Elske van de Fliert (e.vandefliert@uq.edu.au)

              Mr Sven Fea (s.fea@uq.edu.au)

SEES:     A/Prof. Patrick Moss (patrick.moss@uq.edu.au)

              A/Prof. Ron Johnstone (r.johnstone@uq.edu.au)

UQ Law:  Prof. Simon Bronitt (s.bronitt@law.uq.edu.au)

              Ms Genevieve Murray (g.murray@law.uq.edu.au

         UQ Global Engagement & Entrepreneurship:

             Ms Heidi Benjaminson (h.benjaminson@uq.edu.au)

On this site