peatli project in Indonesia  


ABOUT

The School of Communication and Arts, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, and TC Beirne School of Law are collaborating with the Indonesian Peatland Agency (BRG) and Universitas Indonesia to offer a multidisciplinary group of UQ students the opportunity to work on a real-life project in Indonesia in 2019.

The group of students will be tasked with the development of a community engagement strategy to support the BRG’s peatland restoration programs, which will be done in collaboration with a representative community in Central Kalimantan, and facilitated by BRG field staff and students from the Communication Department of Universitas Indonesia.

A number of grants funded by the New Colombo Plan are available to cover the cost of the trip to Indonesia.

REQUIREMENTS

The project is intended for students who are:

  • Interested in doing a transdisciplinary project in Indonesia with rural communities and local institutions;
  • Doing an undergraduate degree at UQ;
  •  Able to fit the project in their undergraduate program through an internship or special studies course in Semester 2 2020;
  •  Available to be involved in preparatory work in Semester 2 2019 and a 16-day visit to Indonesia in November-December 2019.

APPLICATION  PROCESS

Applications for the second intake of participants is now closed.  

 

In the event that you miss this deadline but are particularly interested in joining the project and believe that you meet the criteria please contact Associate Professor Elske van de Fliert (e.vandefliert@uq.edu.au)

 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION


A brief introduction to peatlands and peatland restoration

General  information about project stakeholders:

·         Indonesian Peatland Restoration Agency (TwitterFacebook)

·         Universitas Indonesia

·         UQ and Indonesia

·         The New Colombo Plan Mobility Program


CONTACT:

For more information: 

SCA:       A/Prof. Elske van de Fliert (e.vandefliert@uq.edu.au)

              Dr Kylie Navuku (k.navuku@uq.edu.au)

              Mr Sven Fea (s.fea@uq.edu.au)

SEES:     A/Prof. Patrick Moss (patrick.moss@uq.edu.au)

              A/Prof. Ron Johnstone (r.johnstone@uq.edu.au)

              A/Prof. Paul Dargusch (p.dargusch@uq.edu.au)

UQ Law: 

              Ms Rachel Tyquin (r.tyquin@uq.edu.au)

 

UQ Global Engagement & Entrepreneurship:

              Ms Heidi Benjaminson (h.benjaminson@uq.edu.au)

On this site