food science

Food Science and Nutrition covers all aspects of the food system from ‘farm to fork’ such as on-farm production, off-farm processing, distribution and consumers’ food selection and consumption, including the effect of different food on their health

Food scientists examine the physical nature and chemical composition of food, how and why food behaves under different conditions of processing and storage to improve the safety and quality of food and extend the range of products available. Food technologists also develop new food products and technologies in the processing of foods.

Studies investigate the psychological, sociological and cultural factors that influence food and choice and the associated health consequences. Those involved in nutrition science also look at the effects of dietary nutrients on growth, development, health and wellbeing in the population.

Why study Food Science and Nutrition?

Feeding the ever increasing global population is going to continue to be a high priority in the coming years. A career in this field will mean you will be doing something worthwhile in the years to come.

Associate Professor Mark Turner - Food Science and Technology from The University of Queensland on Vimeo.

 Our international students have their say

  1. Elsie Cheong (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/elsie-cheong )
  2. Kamornrath Sungkaprom (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/kamornrath-sungkaprom )
  3. Thi Le Thoa Nguyen (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/thi-le-thoa-nguyen )
  4. Samantha Wong (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/samantha-wong )
  5. Vedaste Ndungutse (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/vedaste-ndungutse )
  6. Carol Grace Fernandez (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/carol-grace-fernandez )
  7. Jia Li Xue (http://www.science.uq.edu.au/jia-li-xue )

Food Technology student

Graduates can find employment in the following roles

  • Food technologists
  • Food product research and development officers
  • Food microbiologists
  • Food quality and safety assurance officers/managers
  • Community nutritionists and educators
  • Food policy officers

The School offers the following study options

Food Science and Nutrition research being undertaken within the School includes:

  • Microencapsulation of food ingredients
  • Stability of dairy powders
  • Spray drying, UHT, High Pressure Processing of food products
  • Lactic acid bacteria genetics and manipulation
  • Cheese flavour and adjunct cultures
  • Phenolics in honey, wine and tea
  • Sensory-Texture-Rheology - research and capabilities building for the dairy industry
  • Influence of nutrient asynchrony on finisher growth performance and feed efficiency
  • In vitro fermentation of bacterial cellulose composites as model dietary fibres

The Story of Wheat - The story of wheat describes a case study of food science. Food science is not just one discipline but in order to transform a harvested crop into a high quality, tasty, desirable and safe food such as our daily bread, a multitude of sciences are required. View video

Centre for Nutrition and Food Sciences (CNAFS) under QAAFI is located along with the School. CNAFS also has a wide range of research activities in the field.

School academics in this field

Key research collaborators with the School include

 

On this site

Go to top