Dear Colleagues,

We would like to thank you for your contribution to the extensive 2013 Faculty Review process. This has been a significant review for the University and we appreciate and respect the openness shown by staff across the University in engaging constructively in this process. The strength, diversity and passion of views put forward by staff during this process were impressive and testament to the commitment of staff to the success of UQ.

We are pleased to advise you that Senate last week considered and approved the Amended Formal Proposal.

In doing so, Senate approved the establishment of three new faculties from 1 January 2014:

  • Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

The new faculties will replace the current Faculties of Arts, Health Sciences and Social and Behavioural Sciences which will be disestablished from 31 December 2013. Further details on the location of individual schools, institutes and centres in the new faculties can be found on the university webpages.

We are also delighted to inform you of the following appointments to the new faculties:

Professor Bruce Abernethy to the post of Designate Executive Dean of the Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences from 1 September 2013. Professor Fred D’Agostino to the post of Designate Executive Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences from 1 September 2013.

As previously notified, Professor Nicholas Fisk has transferred to the position of Executive Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences with effect 1 January 2014.

The Designate Executive Deans of Health and Behavioural Sciences, and of Humanities and Social Sciences, will transition to be Acting Executive Deans from 1 January 2014 and will have full delegated authority for their respective faculties until the global recruitment process for these roles has occurred and new Executive Deans take up their appointments.

The next six to twelve months will be critical in the establishment of the new faculties and the leadership of the Acting/Executive Deans will be pivotal in transitioning to the new faculties and in providing direction for staff working within the faculties and schools.
We acknowledge that the implementation process continues to create uncertainty for some staff and we are committed to ensuring that the transition arrangements are supportive, respectful and provide certainty as soon as possible to affected staff.

Following Senate approval, we will now be moving into the implementation phase of the project. The Faculty Change Implementation Steering Committee met for the first time on 30 August and an Implementation Plan will be developed and circulated to staff during September. Staff affected by the process will continue to be consulted throughout this important stage.

Our firm belief is that the new faculty arrangements will reposition UQ for even greater success in the future, creating new exciting and strategic opportunities for staff and the University.

Information will continue to be available on the New Faculties 2014 website.

Your feedback is also welcome by emailing

With warm regards

Professor Peter Høj                                                    Professor Debbie Terry
President and Vice-Chancellor                              Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Go to top