The University of Queensland Art Museum

The University of Queensland Art Museum (UQ Art Museum) is located in the James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre on The University of Queensland’s St Lucia campus.

The Art Museum was established in the Forgan Smith Tower in 1976 to house the artworks collected by The University of Queensland since the 1940s, relocating to its present site in 2004. Today, with more than 3,000 artworks, the University’s Art Collection is Queensland's second largest public art collection.

The Collection comprises Australian artworks from the colonial period to the present, as well as of the Nat Yuen Collection of Chinese antiquities. An important focus area within the Collection is the National Collection of Artists’ Self Portraits. The UQ Art Museum is also the custodian of the Stuartholme-Behan Collection of Australian Art.

The University actively acquires the work of major Queensland and Australian contemporary artists, and encourages gifts and bequests.

For details of the exhibitions, public programs and publications initiated by the UQ Art Museum please visit UQ Art Museum.

Location: James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre, University Drive, St Lucia campus
Hours: Open daily 10:00am - 4:00pm (Free entry)
Telephone:(07) 3365 3046
Fax: 61 7 3365 9004

Go to top